Open Educational Resources (OER): Basic & Transitional Studies/ESL/Institute of English

Openly licensed textbook
2016, Klamath Community College in Oregon
CC BY 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
Sample attribution statement: “Multilingual Writers and ESL Challenges” from About Writing by Robin Jeffrey is licensed under a CC BY 4.0 license

Adult Literacy textbooks (available in multiple formats) for Mathematics, English, and College Success.
Most look to be CC BY licensed (Creative Commons - Attribution)

CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

3 flexbook textbooks currently available: Commonsense Composition, The Glyfada Method, and Journalism 101
CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Openly licensed textbook, available in PDF format
2017, written by a Portland State University instructor
Peer reviews available
"This textbook is designed for beginning-intermediate English language learners."
CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Sample attribution statement: “Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners” by Della Jean Abrahams, Portland State University, is licensed under a CC BY NC license.

Openly licensed textbook
2016, Columbia Gorge Community College
A “cheat sheet” is also included at the end of the textbook.
Available in multiple formats, including PDF, online, eBook, and ePub
CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Sample attribution statement: “Unit 15: Colons” from Conventions 101 by Chauna Ramsay is licensed under a CC BY NC 4.0 license

5-level textbook series for ESL students: Beginning, High Beginning, Low Intermediate, High Intermediate, and Advanced
Created by Don Bissonnette at South Seattle College
Each level has a comprehensive, downloadable textbook in an editable Word file
CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Sample attribution statement: “ESL for Beginning Students: The Way You Like It, Basic Beginning Grammar/Writing, Book One” by Don Bissonnette, South Seattle College, is licensed under a CC BY NC 4.0 license

Openly licensed textbook and course
2017, second revised edition expected Sept. 2018
Written by a community college instructor in Oregon
Includes syllabus, textbook, slideshows, creative writing journal, and homework
Each unit previewable on website; files linked to Google Docs
CC BY NC SA license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - ShareAlike)
Sample attribution statement: “Unit 1 Introduction: Elements of Paragraphs and Essays” by Delpha Thomas is licensed under a CC BY NC SA license.

Openly licensed textbook
2016, Portland State University (PDX)
Written by an ESL instructor using examples for PDX, but the examples can be revised
Peer reviews available at Open Textbook Library
CC BY NC license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Sample attribution: “PDX Journeys: Studying and Living in the US, Low-Intermediate Novel and Textbook for University ESL Students” by Amber Bliss Calderón, PDXOpen, is licensed under a CC BY NC 4.0 license.

2017, Wikibooks
Includes a “Grammar and Mechanics” section
Online, printable, and PDF versions available
CC BY SA 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - ShareAlike)
Sample attribution statement: “Rhetoric and Composition: A Guide for the College Writer” via WikiBooks is licensed under a CC BY SA 3.0 license

Openly licensed textbook
2015, Univ. of Minnesota
Includes a chapter for English Language Learners and has sections on sentence-creation and grammar.
CC BY NC SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)
Sample attribution statement: “Writing for Success” by University of Minnesota is licensed under a CC BY NC SA 4.0 license

2017
Phonics study units with slides, worksheets, and audio versions
“The goal of this program is to provide a bridge for those students with limited literacy skills so that they are able to move on to a more traditional beginning ESL class.”
CC BY NC 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Readings, lessons, videos, and games for spelling

Can integrate CK-12 content into Canvas
CC BY NC 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial)

Growing site that offers several new articles each month summarizing news from around the state
Specifically created for ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) and ABE (Adult Basic Education) instructor who want to use news stories and current events as content for teaching reading
Stories are labeled with word count and Lexile level (a measure of degree of difficulty), and grouped into beginner, intermediate, or advanced levels.
Each story includes a related image or video, a set of online self-correcting exercises created using H5P technology, a PDF version of the text suitable for printing, and a list of sources.
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution - NonCommercial - Share Alike)

Collection of 40 basic stories with text and audio options in English and the most widely spoken immigrant and refugee languages in countries all over the world.
5 reading levels of stories, with instructions on how to read, listen, and download stories
Everything on this site is openly licensed, with a CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution), which means you can use, download, print, and even make changes to stuff, as long as you give credit (attribution) to the original source.

1997-2018 by Robin L. Simmons
Freely available grammar resources online but not openly licensed
Includes vocabulary, exercises, handouts, presentations, videos, tips and rules, and more.

Online lessons and practice examples
Athabasca University (in Canada)
“This is a course of lessons and practice on the system of English. It is divided into eighty-six sections. Each section covers an area of basic grammar and contains a number of exercises.” Designed with mobile technology in mind. CC BY 3.0, can download source code for everything; link to units and practice examples; or download PDF and Word versions of each section.
CC BY 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
Note from TCC instructor: “[This] Canadian website is mobile phone accessible and very complete, but most of the exercises appear to be matching.”

Curriculum library of standards-aligned grammar and writing topics designed for students in Grades 5-12
Some resources freely available, but not openly licensed, for registered users
Requires registration (see the “Getting Started Guide for Free Users” guide)

Created by an English instructor in Saddleback College, CA
Funded by a Basic Skills Initiative grant from the State of California
Videos hosted on YouTube
Videos range from 1-5 minutes
Videos have closed captioning
CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)

Openly licensed podcast series
Available as YouTube videos or mp3 podcasts
“Offers challenging listening opportunities for upper intermediate to advanced learners and fascinating topics to do with the English language and culture.”
CC BY license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
Can embed or download videos into Canvas courses

Bay College Online Math, series of 2 videos, including "The 9 Best Scientific Study Tips" and "7 Tips to Beat Exam Anxiety"

Although not listed on individual videos, the video home page states that videos are licensed with a CC BY 4.0 license

Series of open textbooks from BC Campus

"For almost 20 years, the GCFLearnFree.org program has helped millions around the world learn the essential skills they need to live and work in the 21st century. From Microsoft Office and email, to reading, math, and more—GCFLearnFree.org offers more than 200 topics, including more than 7,000 lessons, more than 1,000 videos, and more than 50 interactives and games, completely free."