Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
About this guide
This page contains a sampling of available Open Education Resources (OER) in your discipline. For more information about OER, or for guidance about incorporating open practices and/or low cost materials into your course, please contact your subject liaison librarian.
The Library Liaison is Katy Dichter
Introduction to Sociology-Open Text
This open textbook is being utilized in an introductory sociology course taught by Anne Marenco, Ph.D. at College of the Canyons. The students are mostly non-majors who come in with very little knowledge of sociology. The open textbook contains twenty-one chapters of basic sociology concepts and theory with learning outcomes and case studies. The main motivation to adopt an open textbook was reducing the cost so students could afford them. Most student access chapters of the open textbook in PDF format from the course management system.
Reviews: The book has been reviewed by two CCC faculty (CCC1, CCC2) and one UC faculty member from within the California higher education system.
This introductory course provides a comprehensive coverage of core concepts in Sociology grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research. A heutagogical instructional design requires that students in the course provide much of the substantive content and teaching presence. Student led discussions provide the opportunity for an engaging and personally relevant exploration of the discipline.
The content in this course was curated by Professor Bill Pelz at Herkimer College / SUNY and is provided under a Creative Commons license.
Sociology 2A: International Sociology
Open Course through UC Irvine.
Sociology 2A: International Sociology by David Frank is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.
Sociology of the Family-online textbook
By Ron Hammond, Paul Cheney, Raewyn Pearsey.
American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare Webinar Series
Grand Challenges of social work webinar series by the American Academy of Social Work & Social Welfare. Videos include topics such as "Stop Family Violence", "End Homelessness", and "Financial Capability and Asset Building for all."
Future Learn - Social Care Courses
Develop an understanding of some of the approaches involved in caring for vulnerable children, with this free online course or explore what inequalities are and how they can be reduced through health and social care
OER Commons - Social Work
OER Commons provides a curated collection of textbooks and resources for social work studies
Open Learn Courses - Social Care & Social Work
Open Learn provides introductory to advanced courses on social work. Courses include topics such as "Homelessness and need", "Meeting minority needs", "Interview with a social worker", "Social care in the community", and "Becoming a critical social work practitioner.
Open Social Work Education
Open Social Work textbooks and teaching resources. Created by students and educators.
Open Textbook Library - Social Work
Open Textbook Library provides a textbook called "Instruction in Functional Assessment" that introduces learners to functional assessment (FA), which includes a variety of assessment approaches (indirect, observational, and experimental) for identifying the cause of an individual’s challenging behavior for the purpose of designing effective treatments.
Social Problems: Continuity and Change-Open Textbook
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.