Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
About this Guide
This page contains a sampling of available Open Education Resources (OER) in your discipline. For more information about OER, or for guidance about incorporating open practices and/or low cost materials into your course, please contact your subject liaison librarian.
Your Liaison Librarian is Alyssa Jocson-Porter
Introduction to Design Equity
By Kristine Miller, Ph.D.
Creative Commons Attribution
Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning
Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship and over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
This book was written by two artist educators who teach digital art and design studio foundation classes. This book is a mash-up of the Bauhaus Basic Course and an overview of open source software such as Inkscape, Gimp, Firefox, and Processing.
Graphic Design and Print Production Fundamentals
This textbook addresses different aspects of the design process, from creation to production. Each chapter includes exercises and suggested readings.
Introduction to Computer Graphics
Introduction to Computer Graphics is a free, online textbook covering the fundamentals of computer graphics and computer graphics programming.
Apparel Design and Development
Fashion/Apparel Texts and Supplemental Materials
Europeana Fashion Collection
Europeana is Europe's digital platform for cultural heritage. This collection contains drawings and photographs of clothing.
Fashion Myths: A Cultural Critique
Besides products and services multinational corporations also sell myths, values and immaterial goods. Such 'meta-goods' (e.g. prestige, beauty, strength) are major selling points in the context of successful marketing and advertising. Fashion adverts draw on deeply rooted human values, ideals and desires such as values and symbols of social recognition, beautification and rejuvenation.
ISU Fashion Plates Digital Collection
Hosted by the University Library Digital Collections, the Fashion Plates collection (1776-2003) contains plates of general fashion dating back to the 18th century and continuing through the 20th century.
UW Libraries Special Collections: Fashion Plate Collection
Digital Collection. Many of these plates are from some of the leading French, British, American, and other continental fashion journals of the 19th century and early 20th century.