Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library! We are open, 8am - 4pm, Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday; 8am - 6pm, Tuesday. We are available remotely on Friday.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research, and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
What is ... ?
An open textbook is an openly-licensed textbook offered online by its author(s). The open license sets open textbooks apart from traditional textbooks by allowing users to read online, download, or print the book at no additional cost.
For a textbook to be considered open, it must be licensed in a way that grants a baseline set of rights to users that are less restrictive than its standard copyright. A license or list of permissions must be clearly stated by the author.
Source: Varied Characterizations of Open Textbooks by Open Access Textbooks
Open access (OA) refers to online research outputs that are free of all restrictions on access (e.g. access tolls) and free of many restrictions on use (e.g. certain copyright and license restrictions). Open access can be applied to all forms of published research output, including peer-reviewed and non peer-reviewed.
Source: "Open Access" Wikipedia article
Where to Find Open Textbooks
View and share free educational material in small modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports or other academic assignments.
Galileo Open Textbooks
List of all open textbooks available through the Affordable Learning Georgia initiative
Textbooks for Tertiary Institutions, Open Textbooks for Hong Kong
Annotated list and links for college-level open textbooks. Categories include Arts and Humanities, Business, Science and Engineering, Information Technology, Social Science, and Education
Boundless - Lumen Learning Courses
This catalog contains educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Except where otherwise noted, all material in Boundless courses are licensed under a CC BY-SA license.
A project of the Wikimedia Foundation, this collection of group written textbooks in a variety of sources follows rules similar to Wikipedia.
Bloomsbury is a well-respected and long time UK publisher who has released some of their academic titles for open access/open education.
Global Textbook Project
High-level texts hosted or created by the University of Georgia.
Free Publications - U.S. Bureau of International Information Programs
Free-to-use publications, including books and pamphlets from the U.S. Department of State. Categories include About America, Democracy, Education, English Learning, Entrepreneurship, Environment, Health, Human Rights, Science & Technology, and Women & Girls.
Online Books Page - Univ. of Pennsylvania Libraries
A website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. Many are in the public domain. Searchable listings, or browse by author, titles, or subject.
Find the full text of classics and public domain works from the first massive ebook creating organization in existence. Nothing fancy here, just files with the full text.
Child Development Resources
Where to Find Open Journals
Directory of Open Access Journals
Quality-controlled scientific and scholarly open-access journals, covering a wide range of subjects and many languages. The aim of the DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
International through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world.
SpringerOpen journal portfolio includes peer-reviewed, fully open access journals across all areas of science. It ranges from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, an interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.
Science Direct Open Access Journals
Almost 600 open access titles are available in this leading scientific database. The TCC Library also has a subscription to this database, which provides access to more scientific journal titles that are not openly accessible.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. Elsevier Open Access Journals also available in ScienceDirect.