Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library! We are open, 8am - 4pm, Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday; 8am - 6pm, Tuesday. We are available remotely on Friday.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research, and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
About this page
This page contains a sampling of available Open Education Resources (OER) in your discipline. For more information about OER, or for guidance about incorporating open practices and/or low cost materials into your course, please contact your subject liaison librarian.
Your Liaison Librarian for Business is David Ellenwood.
BCOpenEd campus search for business
Can also narrow down to specific areas of Business using left navigation menu. This is a curated collection of many different Business-related open textbooks. CC licenses vary. Reviews, if any, are linked.
BUS 101: Introduction to Business, Open Course Library
This is a project out of Washington community colleges, curating and creating open and low cost materials for high-enrollment courses. Click on the “Browse” button to view their course materials for BUS 101. Includes course modules and course resources.
BUS101: INTRODUCTION TO BUSINESS, Saylor
Open online course; most materials used are under flexible copyright and can be copied/adapted under CC BY license
Business courses on Lumen Learning
Click on “Business” in the top navigation
These are complete, open courses. All materials are under flexible copyright licenses and can be used/copied/adapted free of charge. Includes Technical Writing, Accounting, International Business, Economic, Management, and Marketing topics.
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing.
Fundamentals of Business, Virginia Tech
Fundamentals of Business (2016) is an openly licensed (CC BY NC SA 3.0) textbook designed for use in Virginia Tech’s Pamplin College of Business introductory level business course, MGT1104 Foundations of Business.
Khan Academy -- Economics and finance
Video tutorials on Microeconomics, Macroeconomics, Entrepreneurship, and Finance and capital markets. Open access, can link to.
Merlot - subject search for business
Continue to use left sidebar subjects to narrow. These linked results are for online courses, and licenses vary.
Open Culture - 150 Free Online Business Courses
A long list of podcasts, lectures, videos; many from universities. Site does have a lot of ads.
OpenLearn - Business Studies
Free videos, tutorials, and complete courses related to business. Scroll down to view “Free OpenLearn courses,” which also have icons to indicate video, audio, free course extract, and activities.
Open Textbook Library - Business, Management, and Marketing
These are complete OER textbooks under flexible copyright licenses, so they can be edited and adapted. Some have reviews. Wide range of Business topics!
Pierce College BUS 101, Introduction to Business
Online and publicly open Canvas course, separated into 9 modules. CC BY.
Professional Communication OER Modules
“A series of modules intended for use in Higher Education courses or by independent learners… the resource will be useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. The resources is openly available under a Creative Commons license, and may be reused or adapted. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assets, assessments and supporting materials.” Four modules: Foundations, Writing, Presentation, and Interpersonal. CC BY license
Small Business Administration Learning Center
Links to over 60 self-paced “online trainings” that can also be viewed/downloaded in text. Some include additional materials, like workbooks. Resources in public domain because government agency, part of Open Government Initiative
Professional Communication Texts and Resources
Business Communication for Success
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
Business English for Success
Publisher: Saylor Foundation
BC Campus. Communication Theory is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
The Forest of Rhetoric
"This online rhetoric, provided by Dr. Gideon Burton of Brigham Young University, is a guide to the terms of classical and renaissance rhetoric."
BC Campus. Presentation Software by ABT Collaborative is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Stand up, Speak out: The Practice and Ethics of Public Speaking
Publisher: University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing
Writing for Strategic Communication Industries
Publisher: Ohio State University Libraries
Writing for Success - 1st Canadian Edition
BC Campus. Writing for Success - 1st Canadian Edition by Tara Horkoff, Scott McLean is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence
BC Campus. Writing in College: From Competence to Excellence by Amy Guptill, The College at Brockport, SUNY is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.
An open-access platform for anyone who wants to understand the economics of innovation, inequality, environmental sustainability, and more.
UH Microeconomics 2019
By Terianne Brown, Cynthia Foreman, Thomas Scheiding, and Openstax. A revised version of OpenStax Principles of Microeconomics 2e. CC Attribution.
Accounting & Finance openly licensed textbooks from Open Textbook Library
A range of open texts, including introductory and intermediate texts and personal finance
Each text includes peer reviews, in-depth
info, and multiple formats.
Each text may have a different CC (Creative Commons) license
Open Textbook Library is a “a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks” based out of University of Minnesota
Accounting, Economics, and Law: A Convivium
Online journal with many freely available issues.
Accounting and Finance Research
Accounting and Finance Research (AFR) is a double-blind peer-reviewed journal, published by Sciedu Press.All publications are open access in full text and free to download.
Overview: Accounting covers accounting principles and practices, the complete accounting cycle and creation of financial reports.
Material Type: Full Course, Lesson Plan
Accounting open courses from Open Course Library
SBCTC’s Open Course Library, focused on community college-level courses in Washington
Course materials available via Google Docs, in folders for “Resources” and “Modules”
Note: Some Open Course Library resources are based on low-cost, traditional textbooks
Current courses included in this subject category:
ACCT 201 - Principles of Accounting I
ACCT 202 - Principles of Accounting II
ACCT 203 - Principles of Accounting III
BUS 101 - Introduction to Business
All CC BY 3.0 licenses (Creative Commons - Attribution)
Accounting principles on Bookboon
Bookboon provides students with free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, covering topics from Engineering and IT to Economics and Business.
BC Campus OpenEd Textbooks | Accounting
BC Campus OpenEd is based in Canada, so there is an emphasis on Canadian-focused texts.
Textbook info pages include info and links to textbooks that have been faculty peer-reviewed, reviewed for accessibility, include ancillary materials, and/or have been adopted.
BUS103: Introduction to Financial Accounting
Openly licensed course
Published by Saylor.org Academy
10 major units
CC BY 3.0 license (Creative Commons - Attribution)
Lumen Learning resource
Financial Accounting, Summer 2004
This Course Studies basic concepts of financial and managerial accounting. Viewpoint is that of the users of accounting information (especially managers) rather than the preparer (the accountant).
Financial Accounting Textbook
This book is intended for an undergraduate or MBA level Financial Accounting course.
The International Journal of Digital Accounting Research
The International Journal of Digital Accounting Research is an open access journal founded in 2001. The IJDAR covers comprehensively the frontier of trends in accounting and information technologies. The aim of IJDAR is to contribute to advancing knowledge and understanding of both theory and practice in digital accounting, by promoting high quality applied and theoretical research.
International Journal of Finance and Accounting
An Open Access refereed Journal dedicated to publish empirical research that tests, extends, or builds Finance and Accounting theory and contributes to practice.
Introductory Financial Accounting
Freely accessible textbook (but not openly licensed).
2015 1st edition, by accounting professor Anthony Cataldo II at West Chester University (2nd edition published 2018, but only available for purchase)
Part of Digital Commons repository
The Journal of Accounting and Taxation (JAT)
The Journal of Accounting and Taxation (JAT) is a peer reviewed open access journal. The journal is published monthly and covers all areas of Accounting and Taxation.
Journal of Finance and Accounting
Journal of Finance and Accounting is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides rapid publication of articles in all areas of finance and accounting. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of finance and accounting.
Khan Academy: Accounting and Financial Statements
Khan Academy video lessons and practice questions
Management Accounting and Control
Overview: This course is an introduction to the use of accounting information by managers for decision making, performance evaluation and control. The course should be useful for those who intend to work as management consultants, for LFM (Leaders for Manufacturing) students, and in general, for those who will become senior managers.
Material Type: Full Course
Open Journal of Accounting
Open Journal of Accounting (OJAcct) is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancement of all areas of accounting. The goal of this journal is to provide a platform for scientists and academicians all over the world to promote, share, and discuss various new issues and developments in different areas of accounting.
Principles of Financial Accounting Textbook
Overview: The University of North Georgia Press and Affordable Learning Georgia bring you Accounting I. Well-written and straightforward, Principles of Financial Accounting is a needed contribution to open source pedagogy in the business education world. Written in order to directly meet the needs of her students, this textbook developed from Dr. Christine Jonick’s years of teaching and commitment to effective pedagogy.
ProfAlldredge videos on YouTube
Series of videos explaining financial concepts