Home  (206) 934-4050  Ask the Library  Schedule a Research Appointment  Library Account/Renew

Library Support for Faculty

Instruction

Library faculty will provide library instruction through Canvas modules, by embedding in courses, and through reference services. Faculty should contact their librarian liaison or the reference desk to arrange instruction. In Canvas Commons, search for “Seattle Central College Library” to find the nine information literacy modules that you can import into your courses: 

  • Start your research with the Library Website  
  • Finding and Using Background Research
  • Searching Databases to find articles 
  • Developing a research question 
  • Finding and Evaluating Websites 
  • Evaluating Sources using the CRAAP test 
  • Citing sources in MLA Style
  • Cite your sources to avoid plagiarism

Librarians are happy to work with you to customize modules or to construct new modules for your information literacy outcomes. Please contact your liaison librarian to work with us on instruction.

Resources

Print materials and equipment, including books, periodicals, Chromebooks, and other equipment are not available while the library is closed. Print interlibrary loan and request services are not available.  

Electronic Collections including ebooks, research databases, and streaming video are available remotely from the library homepage. Use the Quick Find search box to get started or use the A-Z list of databases. 

All current students and employees can access electronic collections from the library homepage. Users will be prompted to enter SID and last name to access these resources.  

Course Reserve - Textbooks 

Physical materials will not be available. Wherever possible, the library will provide access to electronic versions of textbooks. Access the library’s course reserve collection here

Faculty, please submit reserve requests here or go to the library website and select ‘Reserve Textbooks’ tab for more information. Please direct questions to circ.central@seattlecolleges.edu or 206-934-4051 and leave a message.

Search for reserve books by title, author, or course code, such as MATH 141. Course List codes here. When you find the book that you need, click on the title. If available, the link to the online version of the textbook will be in the ‘Details’ section. FACULTY RESOURCES link.

Some publishers have made their textbooks available online. If you cannot find your textbook linked in the library catalog, check these websites from major textbook publishers and the National Emergency Library (NLE),  RedShelf, VitalSource, OpenStax, OpenTextbooks, XYZ Textbooks, or Project MUSE or browse by participating publishers.

Consult with your liaison librarian to request materials for the collection that support your curriculum and to collaborate on ideas to meet our mutual teaching and learning needs. Liaisons coordinate both library instruction and library collections.

Allied Health Kimberly
Basic & Transitional Studies Sharon
Information Technology, Creative Arts Alyssa
Culinary Arts Katy
English Althea
Humanities, College Success Sharon
Institute of English Katy
Maritime Alyssa
Science & Math Alyssa
Social & Human Services, Applied Behavioral Science Katy
Social Sciences, Business Dave
Wood Technology Althea

for Students

  • Schedule your class for research and information literacy workshops geared toward students' needs and assignments
  • Teach a library session on your own (prevent overbooking by calling the Reference Desk)
  • Collaborate with your library liaison to develop effective library assignments
  • Take advantage of the reserves service to increase student access to supplemental readings, sample exams, textbooks, audiovisual media, and other high demand items (print or online)

 

for Faculty/Staff

  • Attend professional development workshops on resources and information literacy issues that support the curriculum
  • Consult with a librarian for help accessing and using databases and other library resources

You can request library research and information literacy workshops tailored to the individual needs of your class. We encourage you to include a library instruction session in your course outline and we look forward to helping your students become information savvy.

Call or email your liaison librarian to request library instruction for your class. Please let us know the following:

  • Course number and name
  • Time/days of the week that your class regularly meets
  • Preferred time and date for library instruction
  • Number of students
  • Special needs
  • Assignment(s) students are working on

If you are planning a general orientation of the library (appropriate for some classes but not most), please check with your students to see how many of them have already had such a session. You may want to focus the next session on particular information skills, strategies, or concepts.

If you would like to bring a class to the library and do not need the assistance of a librarian, please call or email us. We'll reserve space for your class and avoid too many classes are trying to use the computers or collections at the same time.

Guidelines to keep in mind:

  • To ensure time for planning, we require one week notice for workshops
  • If you contact a librarian during quarter breaks, you may not hear back until the new quarter begins (but we will respond if we can and requests will be taken in the order received)
  • Librarians are available to teach workshops starting the second week of each quarter
  • Call or Email us to make a request
  • Your participation makes a huge difference in student engagement. Please come to the workshop prepared to collaborate with us.

Instruction sessions work best when:

Students have an assignment. Design a learning experience that requires the library or other information sources. Include topic and research strategy development and require students to evaluate and use a variety of sources.

The assignment has been tested. Be sure the assignment will work the way you want it to with the resources you expect students to use.

Students are prepared. Give students the assignment & ask them to do some preliminary work before the workshop. Tell them what they can expect to gain from the library session and how the library session will help them succeed in the assignment.

Sessions are designed to address immediate information needsLibrary instruction that does not address an actual, immediate information need is boring and soon forgotten. Tell us the objectives of your assignment so we can connect instruction with your assignment.

The instructor participates actively. Students will only be as engaged as you are. Encourage students to ask questions and share your opinions and perspectives during the session.

Librarians have time to plan an appropriate workshop. The library generally requires one week's advance notice to prepare for a session. This time allows us to plan engaging and relevant instruction that meets your students' needs.

How to place items on Reserve

Bring items to the circulation desk with a completed course reserve request form. Complete one request form for each course. The best time-frame to submit a request an item is no later than one week before it is needed.

Reserve Request Form (.pdf)    (Download and open with Adobe Acrobat)

Reserve Request Form (.doc)    (Download and open with Microsoft Word) 


What to Place on Reserve

Library Books - Library staff will retrieve library materials for you and place them on reserve. Please include author, title, and call number to support timely processing.

Personally Owned Books -We will affix a barcode, reserve labels, and theft detection devices to personal copies provided to us for reserve. Personal materials are returned to you through campus mail unless otherwise indicated. The library is not responsible for the loss of, or damage to, personal copies.

Individual Chapters - Chapters or selections from a single book or monograph may be placed on course reserve. Copyright guidelines limit copying to one chapter or not more than 10% of work.

Books and periodicals, DVDs and CDs, photocopies and maps, are the most common materials placed on reserve to support classroom instruction. Library materials will not be held on reserve indefinitely and materials not used in the current quarter will be returned to the stacks.

For more information, please visit the following online resources on copyright and fair use:


‚ÄčSelect Loan Periods

There are two categories: In-Library and Out of Library use. Time periods are 1-day or 3-days, 1-week, and 1-4 hour/s. Loan periods are chosen by the instructor.


Processing Time

All requests are processed on a first-come, first-serve basis. Reserve requests are usually processed within three days of their submission date. Processing time may take longer during the beginning of the quarter.


Removal of Materials

All reserve material is removed from course reserves at the end of every quarter if not used for the next quarter. It is the responsibility of the instructor to contact the library about subsequent future use.


Course Reserves contact information, Email or 206.934.4051

Meet Dave

Dave Ellenwood's picture
Dave Ellenwood
Contact:
206-934-6336

Meet Kimberly

Kimberly Tate-Malone's picture
Kimberly Tate-Malone
Contact:
206.934.4497