Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 Home  (206) 934-4050  Ask the Library  Book a Study Room  Schedule a Research Appointment  Library Account/Renew
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.

Yom HaShoah: Holocaust Remembrance Day: Books and Articles

Holocaust Remembrance Day

Online Encyclopedias

Keyword Help

Consider using these words or their variations when searching: 

Holocaust, Yom HaShoah, Jews, Anti-Semitism, Genocide, World War II, Memory, Nazi, Survivors, Personal Narratives

Articles

Search for research articles about the Holocaust in these library databases.

  • Academic Search Complete - Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.

  • EBSCOhost Databases - Some full-text. All-in-one search of multiple Ebsco databases. Includes peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, ebooks, and more. This is a good starting point for most research.

  • ProQuest Databases - Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple ProQuest databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.

Sign in required for off-campus access.

Sample Articles:

Challenge Anti-Semitism Nature (London), 2018-04, Vol.556 (7702), p.407-407

Gender and the politics of Antisemitism by Schüler-Springorum, Stefanie. American Historical Review, 123,4 (2018) 1210-1222

Resisting Prejudice Every Day: Exploring Women’s Assertive Responses to Anti-Black Racism, Anti-Semitism, Heterosexism, and Sexism by Hyers, Lauri L. Sex Roles, 56,1-2 (2007) 1-12

Do Holocaust survivors show increased vulnerability or resilience to post-Holocaust cumulative adversity? by Shmotkin, Dov ; Shrira, Amit ; Palgi, Yuval ; Ben-Ezra, Menachem. Journal of traumatic stress, 2010, Vol.23 (3), p.367-375

Cultural Dehumanization in Holocaust Testimonials by Luna, Aniuska M; Moghaddam, Fathali. Peace and conflict, 2018-05, Vol.24 (2), p.250-254

“Ordinary Men,” Extraordinary Circumstances: Historians, Social Psychology, and the Holocaust by Overy, Richard. Journal of social issues, 2014-09, Vol.70 (3), p.515-530

    e-Books

In addition to the books on the shelves, the library offers over 50,000 titles on the web through our subscriptions to online book collections. EBSCOhost Ebook Collection and Ebook Central provide access to digital books that can be accessed 24 hours a day, seven days a week. You can search each of these collections separately or all-in-one through the Library Catalog.

  • Read e-books online
  • Create a free account to track notes and bookmarks

Sample E-Books:

Being Jewish in the New Germany by Jeffrey M Peck

The Memory of Pain: Women's Testimonies of the Holocaust by Camila Loew

Remember for Life Holocaust Survivors' Stories of Faith and Hope by Brad Hirschfield 

Granddaughters of the Holocaust Never Forgetting What They Didn't Experience by Nirit Gradwohl 

Holocaust: An American Understanding by Deborah Lipstadt

Studying the Holocaust:Issues, Readings, and Documents by Ronnie Landau 

Antisemitism Explained by Steven Baum 

Deciphering the new Antisemitism by Alvin Rosenfeld