Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 Home  (206) 934-4050  Ask the Library  Schedule a Research Appointment  Library Account/Renew
We are currently operating remotely in response to COVID-19.
Find information about library services, such as borrowing and returning items or research appointments!.  Go To: REMOTE LIBRARY SERVICES page

Yom HaShoah: Holocaust Remembrance Day, 2020: Exhibits and Archives

Holocaust Remembrance Day

Intro

Exhibits

Permanent Exhibition: the Holocaust at the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum: This narrative history of the Holocaust features historical artifacts, video footage, and personal stories.

permanent exhibit us holocaust memorial museum

Yad Vashem Online Exhibits

online exhibit yad vashem

I Am My Brother's Keeper: A Tribute to the Righteous Among the Nations is one of the dozens of online exhibits at the Yad Vashem Holocaust Remembrance Center.

SHOAH: The New Permanent Exhibition in Block 27 at the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum

Shoah museum image

Exhibit answers questions such as: Who were the Jews who were targeted? What were the motivations for the annihilation of European Jewry? How were the Jews murdered? In what ways did the victims deal with the events of the Holocaust?

Quote

“Thou shalt not be a victim, thou shalt not be a perpetrator, but, above all, thou shall not be a bystander.” — Yehuda Bauer

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

An online authority on the Holocaust, this Washington, D.C. museum is free and open every day except for Christmas and Yom Kippur. 

US Holocaust Meseum screenshot

 

Key online tools:

Yad Vashem: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center

A top source of Holocaust education, commemoration and research that is based in Jerusalem. Highlights of the collection include:

  • Documents Archive: Access posters, letters, diaries, memoirs, legal documents and more 
  • Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names - includes names and biographical details of millions of Shoah victims
  • Photo and film archives - one of the largest collections of photographs and films in the world
  • Righteous Among Nations - a database of the people who didn't remain indifferent or hostile but risked their own lives to save Jews. Survivors can search for their rescuers and the rescuers and can search for those they helped.

Historical Images

 

A Jewish youth, wearing a numbered tag, sits on a staircase with her head in her hands after her arrival in England with the second Kindertransport.

Image Source: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of National Archives and Records Administration, College Park in the public domain. 

Featured Primary Sources

map of concentration camps

Image Source: "Map of the major Nazi concentration and extermination camps" From the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum, courtesy of Marilyn Spencer: Search for this photograph and others by keyword in the research collection.

 

Diary page

Page from a diary written by Mina Kaplan-Halberstadt, an educator in an orphanage for child Holocaust survivors in Lublin, Poland, dated, 26/06-24/12/1945. Courtesy of the Yad Vashem Documents Archive.