Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 Home  (206) 934-4050  Ask the Library  Book a Study Room  Schedule a Research Appointment  Library Account/Renew
We have a new database login system! The only change occurs when signing on for the first time, either off campus or on campus using Wi-Fi. Learn more

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Archives Collection: Welcome

Purpose

The Library’s Archives Collection acquires and preserves materials derived from and relevant to the history of Seattle Central Community College

The collection comprises a range of items including, but not limited to photographs, publications, and official college records.

The collection is housed in the Library behind the circulation desk.

Current students and employees of the Seattle Community Colleges may use the Archives Collection for research and educational purposes.

Mission & Scope

Mission Statement 

In line with the mission of the Seattle Central College Library, the SCC Library Archives collects, preserves, and protects materials illustrating the history of the college, its changing community, and its evolution over time. By maintaining an accessible collection of original documents, ephemera, and photographs, the Library Archives ensures institutional memory and local history (including notable and contentious history) is available to researchers on campus and in the community. The library does not attempt to maintain a comprehensive archival collection. This is a collective endeavor. We value participation from the college community, including both employees and students, in maintaining our institutional memory.

Scope 

The Library Archives collection areas include (but are not limited to): 

  • Artifacts documenting the creation, funding, restructuring of offices/programs, e.g. Accessibility Resource Center, Multicultural Student Services, Childcare Center, Health and Wellness Center, The Mitchell Activity Center/swimming pool, greenhouse, student leadership 

  • Artifacts illustrating the history of the college, as Seattle Central College, Seattle Central Community College, Edison Technical. (Artifacts of Broadway High School are stored in the BHS Archive.) 

  • Audio and video resources produced by or about the College, its students, employees, programs, services, events, and facilities 

  • Budget and related documents not available through State Board of Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) or Seattle Colleges 

  • Information about awards and recognitions (college & individual) 

  • Items documenting actions on or near campus, e.g., WTO, Occupy, CHOP/CHAZ 

  • Key documents about major projects and endeavors, such as applications for or final grant reports, e.g., Critical Moments Project, Seattle Promise, Achieving the Dream, Umoja, Academy of Rising Educators, Achieving Systems Integration 

  • Newspaper and magazine articles highlighting SCC students, employees, programs, services, events, and facilities 

  • Photographs, maps, blueprints, and plans of SCC campus, buildings, and property (including satellite locations) 

  • Recordings of notable guest speakers or notable college events, provided that permission was granted for recording 

  • Records of activity related to legislation/bills that the college supported or had a stake in 

The Library Archives does not collect: 

  • Directories or lists of employees 

  • Documents and artifacts that cannot be accommodated or adequately preserved in the space available 

  • Employee correspondence  

  • Individual department and/or divisions’ archival materials, except as described above 

  • Information already available from other entities 

  • Meeting minutes 

Collection Development, Gifts, and Donations 

In line with the Seattle Central College Library Collection Development Policy, materials will be selected based on the quality of the material, condition, and relevance to the Library Archives Mission and Scope.  

Gifts are accepted with the provision that they will be evaluated for inclusion in the collection in the same manner as other materials. Unusable gifts will be sold, exchanged, or otherwise disposed of according to the discretion of the Library. The Library cannot legally appraise gifts for tax purposes. Donors may request a signed and dated gift statement as a receipt. 

Any accepted gift or donation becomes property of Library Archives. Additionally, where possible, the rights to reproduce, use, exhibit, display, broadcast, distribute, and create derivative works of these images and recordings in any media now known or later developed are transferred to SCC Library. The Library will provide open access to content wherever possible. Donors who own copyrights will be asked to provide a CC license or give explicit permission to reproduce material so that it may be made available digitally.  

 

Policy Inspiration & Guidance from: 
Kathleen Magner’s Archive Recommendations 2015 report, Elena Bianco’s “Preserving Institutional Memory: Archiving Best Practices” Sabbatical project for Skagit Valley College Archives, Randolph Community College Archives, and Lake Washington Tech Library Archives.

Updated: May 2022

What's Included

The Archives includes the following types of records that document the history and activities of Seattle Central Community College:

  • Accreditation
  • Audit
  • Blueprints/Plans
  • Board of Trustees Meetings
  • Broadway High School
  • Budget
  • City Collegian
  • Curriculum Grants
  • Curriculum Review
  • Curriculum Review Committee
  • Edison Technical School
  • Faculty Agreement
  • Faculty Development
  • Library History
  • Library Information
  • Library Lectures/Concerts
  • Newspaper Clippings/Newsletters/Art
  • Oversize
  • Photographs
  • Planning/Research
  • Policy
  • Public Information Office
  • Publications (Misc.)
  • Rare Books
  • Reports
  • Sabbatical Leave Reports
  • Seattle Community College District
  • Seattle History
  • Seattle Union Record
  • Slides
  • Title II/Title VI/Grants
  • Transitional Period/General Information