Skip to Main Content
Ask the Library
Book a Study Room
Schedule a Research Appointment
View your Library Account
To find more information about the services offered, visit our
Library Services page
Follow the link to our
Seattle Central College
Search this Guide
Primary Sources: Asian History
Welcome! This guide is a starting point for students with research assignments requiring primary sources.
About Primary Sources
Pacific Northwest History
American History: To 1877
American History: 1878 to present
Civil Rights and Multiculturalism
Women's and LGBTQ History
Middle East History
Americans in Asia
Harvard's Arnold Arboretum:Botanical and Cultural Images of Eastern Asia, 1906-1927 Photograph
Use this to find photographs of early 20th century plant collectors.
National Security Archive - Asia
Use this to find a collection of American documents on Asia.
East Asia Image Collection
Use this to find digitized photographs, negatives, postcards, and slides of imperial Japan, its empire, and occupied Japan. This collection also includes images of Taiwan, China, Indonesia, Manchuria and Korea.
Truman Library: The Decision to Drop the Atomic Bomb
Use this to find over 600 pages of documents from the years 1945-1965 detailing the decision to drop the Atomic Bomb on Japan.
The United States and its Territories, 1870-1925, The Age of Imperialism
Use this to find the full text of books and government documents published in the US, Spain, and the Philippines between 1870 and 1925. This focuses on the Spanish-American War.
Vietnam Center and Archive
Use this to find over 3.2 million pages on Americans' personal experiences during the war with Vietnam, including photographs, oral interviews, sound recordings, moving images and artifacts.
Asian History Resources
Afghanistan Digital Library
Use this growing database to find Afghan literature from 1870-1939.
Asia, Pacific and Africa Collection
Use this to find the British Museum's vast collection of prints, drawings, and photographs from India.
Center for South Asian Studies: Oral Histories
The Centre of South Asian Studies has a large collection of oral history and other sound recordings.
Chinese Political Pamphlets
Use this to find Chinese mass education materials from 1947-1954, including copies of pamphlets, books, postcards, and magazines.
Chinese Rubbings Collection
Use this to find over 2500 rubbings from stone and other tablets, tombs, bronze vessels, and more.
Digital South Asia
Use this to find images, reference, maps, statistics, and more about South Asia.
Digital South Asia Library
Includes images, maps, and statistics from the Colonial period through the present.
East Asian Collection from the University of Wisconsin
Use this to find historical images of early twentieth century, including the Sino-Japanese Conflict, Buddhism, and daily life in urban and rural China.
East Asian History Sourcebook
Internet resource from Fordham University for Chinese, Japanese and Korean history. Differentiates between primary and secondary sources.
Endangered Archives Collection
Archive of endangered documents from around the world.
Harappa: Glimpses of South Asia before 1947
Use this to find engravings, lithographs, photographs, and postcards from 19th century India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Hong Kong Government Reports Online, 1842-1941
Use this to find full-text government reports from the pre-World War II period.
Japan Center for Asian Historical Records
Use this to find official records from the Meiji Era through 1945.
Joseph Berry Keenan Digital Collection
Use this to find manuscripts and photographs related to the Japanese war crimes trial post-WWII.
National Archives of Singapore
Use this to find photographs and oral histories documenting Singapore history and culture.
SouthEast Asian Images and Texts
Use this mix of primary and secondary resources to find information about Thailand, Laos, and the Philippines.
European History >>
Jun 27, 2022 10:21 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.