Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
Use this to find thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s at Duke University.
American Friends Service Committee Archives (AFSC)
AFSC was founded to enable Quakers and other young pacifists to serve during World War I, while being faithful to their commitment to nonviolence.The Archives of the American Friends Service Committee holds the records of the organization, its work, and involvement around the world.
DPLA Primary Source Sets
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture.
The Freedom Archives
The Freedom Archives is a non-profit educational archive located in San Francisco dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of historical audio, video, and print materials documenting progressive movements and culture from the 1960s to the 1990s.
The Radicalism Collection at MSU Libraries
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
Use this to find vintage newsreels shown before feature films in large cities.
Washington Prison History Project
The Washington Prison History Project archive aims to provide researchers, policy-makers, students, and others with artifacts and documentation of the history and ongoing reality of mass incarceration in Washington state and the broader Northwest.
The Wilbur and Orville Wright Papers
Use this to find over 10,000 library items or approximately 49,084 digital images, documents the lives of Wilbur and Orville Wright and highlights their pioneering work which led to the world's first powered, controlled and sustained flight.
Civil Rights Online Resources
Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.
Race and Place
Race and Place is an archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville in Virginia.
Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project
Use this to learn about the vital history of Seattle's civil rights movements, with scores of video oral histories, hundreds of rare photographs, documents, movement histories, and personal biographies.
Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement.
Archive of digitized audio files documenting the experiences of activists in the Civil Rights Movement.
Wisconsin Historical Society: Freedom Summer Collection
Archive documenting the Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964. Includes primary documents and images.
History of Women's Movements
Use this to find Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the United States.
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present for the future and furthers the Radcliffe Institute's commitment to women, gender, and society.
Duke University Libraries | Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture
Manifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
Votes for Women
Use this to find selections from the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848 - 1921. This site consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party | Library of Congress
This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. The images span from 1875 to 1938 but largely were created in the years between 1913 and 1922.
Act Up Oral History Project
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
The Gay Peoples Union Collection
Use this to find digital copies of primary source materials documenting GPU and Milwaukee's gay liberation movement.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.
Books Containing Primary Sources
America Goes Green by
Call Number: Central Reference GE197.A63 2013
Publication Date: 2012-11-12