Skip to main content
 Home  206-934-4050  Ask a Librarian  Book a Study Room  Schedule a Research Appointment  Log In/Renew

Resources for Community Support and Justice at Seattle Central College: Indigenous/First Nations People

This guide is a collection of King County resources for our diverse community, as well as a statement of support for all of our students.

About this Guide

Our communities have a great deal of support in King County, and knowing where to look for assistance and camaraderie in stressful times is important. Remember, we are stronger together!

Need Help?

24 Hour Crisis Line
Available 365 days a year, 24 hours a day
Toll Free: 1.866.4CRISIS or 1.800.427.4747
I
n Seattle: 206.461.3222 / TTY: 206.461.3219

Suicide Prevention Hotline
Washington Suicide and Crisis Hotlines
1.800.SUICIDE or 1.800.275.TALK 

Domestic Violence
1.800.562.6025

Alcohol/Drug Help Line (24–hours daily)
206.722.3700 or 1.800.562.1240

Community Resources

  • Chief Seattle Club: The Chief Seattle Club aims to "provide a sacred space to nurture, affirm and renew the spirit of urban Native Peoples" and "provides a safe and sacred place to rest, revive and nurture the spirit of urban Native peoples in need".  Open for anyone with American Indian or Alaska Native heritage, regardless of tribe.

  • Council for Tribal Employment Rights:  The CTER focuses on tribal employment rights, and offers training and consulting.  "Included among the training programs CTER offers are: Introduction to Basic TERO, Management and Operation of TERO Program, TERO Commission Training, Charge Investigation, Indian Preference in Employment/Contracting, Federal Law & Indian Preference, Sexual Harassment, Tribal workforce Utilization& Empowerment, Youth Motivation & Entrepreneurship, and Cultural Synergy-Beyond Diversity."

  • Mother Nation: Services include emergency transportation for victims of domestic violence, safety planning, public benefit application assistance, housing referrals, referrals to employment, advocacy with Indian Child Welfare, Domestic Violence Court and Tribal Courts. Serves Native women. 

  • National Association for American Indian Enterprise Development: A non-profit organization with 40+ years of experience assisting American Indian Tribes and their enterprises with business and economic development.  The NCAIED is engaged in helping Tribal Nations and Native business people realize their entrepreneurial goals.

  • Northwest Indian Housing Association:  The NWIHA promotes affordable housing for Tribal members in the Pacfic Northwest.

  • Potlatch Fund:  Nonprofit providing grants and leadership development in Tribal communities in the Pacific Northwest, Idaho, and Montana.

  • Seattle Indian Center:  The SIC provides wraparound case management for American Indians and Alaska Natives.  It also provides food, short term services in an emergency, employment search aid, as well as help with G.E.D. completion.  Referrals are provided for services that go beyond the SIC.

  • Seattle Indian Health Board:  The SIHB provides community health care and services for the urban American Indian and Alaska Native population in the greater Seattle/King County area. Most primary care services are available to everyone regardless of race, color, sex, national origin, disability, religion, sexual orientation or inability to pay. 

  • United Indians of All Tribes Foundation:  The United Indians of All Tribes Foundation provides educational, cultural, and social services to indigenous people in the Puget Sound.  Includes Native Workforce Services Program, Preschool, Family Support Services, Foster Care, Elder's Program, Youth Home, and Homelessness Prevention.

  • Washington State Native American Coalition Against Domestic ViolenceThe Washington State Native American Coalition Against Domestic Violence & Sexual Assault also known as WomenSpirit Coalition (WSC), provides a voice for women who have suffered sexual assault, domestic violence, dating violence, stalking, and sex trafficking. 

Library Resources