Library: HEC Highlights: From the Display to the Digital: Spring 2024: AANHPI in Allied Health

Books + e-books

Not Fit to Stay by Sarah Isabel Wallace
Call Number: HEC Main E184.S69 W35 2017
ISBN: 9780774832199
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
"Not Fit to Stay: Public Health Panics and South Asian Exclusion examines how and why South Asians were prevented from immigrating to British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, and California between 1900 and 1920. In the first decades of the twentieth century, all Asian immigrants to Canada and the United States faced opposition to their arrival and settlement. While racism and fear of labour competition were at the heart of this resistance, panic soon swept up and down the West Coast of North America over unsubstantiated public health concerns. Public leaders--including physicians, union leaders, civil servants, journalists, and politicians--latched on to these health concerns as the basis for the exclusion of the South Asians, who were said to suffer from medical conditions and diseases attributed to their race. Even though many officials knew the public health argument had no grounds, they promoted it to support their racist views and concerns about labour. Legislation to restrict the immigration of South Asians took effect in Canada in 1908 and in the United States in 1917. This book is an important study of how white North Americans saw first-wave South Asian immigrants as separate from, and inferior to, other groups in the evolving racial hierarchy on the West Coast of North America."-- Provided by publisher.
English-Japanese medical dictionary by Kusama, Yoshio., & Fujita, T.
Call Number: HEC Main R121.F85 1998
Publication Date: 1998
English/Japanese Medical Glossary. by Cross Cultural Health Care Program.
Call Number: HEC Main ; R121 .E545 2011
Publication Date: 2008
Pacific Partnerships for Health by Jill C. Feasley; Robert S. Lawrence
ISBN: 9780585025575
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Classical Chinese Medicine by Heiner Fruehauf (Editor); Liu Lihong; Gabriel Weiss (Translator); Henry A. Buchtel (Translator); Sabine Wilms (Translator)
Call Number: HEC Main R601 .L58413 2019
ISBN: 9789882370579
Publication Date: 2019-06-25
"The English edition of Liu Lihong's milestone work is a sublime beacon for the profession of Chinese medicine in the 21st century. Classical Chinese Medicine delivers a straightforward critique of the politically motivated "integration" of traditional Chinese wisdom with Western science during the last sixty years, and represents an ardent appeal for the recognition of Chinese medicine as a science in its own right. Professor Liu's candid presentation has made this book a bestseller in China, treasured not only by medical students and doctors, but by vast numbers of non-professionals who long for a state of health an well-being that is founded in a deeper sense of cultural identity" -- Back cover.
Bridging the gap : a basic training for medical interpreters : medical glossary : English-Korean by Cho, Seja., & Kim, E.-Kyung.
Call Number: HEC Main R121.B75 1996 Kor.
Publication Date: 1996
Toward Equity in Health by Barbara C. Wallace
Call Number: HEC Main RA418 .H3894 2008
ISBN: 9780826103130
Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Presents examples of evidence-based and culturally appropriate models for reducing global health disparities. Divided into eight parts, this work covers: the legacy and role of racism in contributing to disparities; recommendations for research with practice applications; and key role of collaborations, partnerships and community-based research.

Chapter of highlight: Addressing cardiovascular health disparities of Chinese immigrants in New York City: a case of the Chinese-American healthy heart coalition
Bridging the gap : a basic training for medical interpreters : medical glossary : English-Lao by Vetvong, Noum., & Keohavong, Sompasong.
Call Number: HEC Main ; R121.B75 1996 Lao
Publication Date: 1996
Traditional Chinese Medicine by Paul U. Unschuld; Bridie Andrews (Translator)
Call Number: HEC Main R601 .U57813 2018
ISBN: 9780231175005
Publication Date: 2018-01-09
A leading authority explains the ideas and practice of Chinese medicine from its beginnings in antiquity to today. Paul U. Unschuld describes medicine's close connection with culture and politics throughout Chinese history. He brings together texts, techniques, and worldviews to understand changing Chinese attitudes toward healing and the significance of traditional Chinese medicine in both China and the Western world. Unschuld reveals the emergence of a Chinese medical tradition built around a new understanding of the human being, considering beliefs in the influence of cosmology, numerology, and the supernatural on the health of the living. He describes the variety of therapeutic approaches in Chinese culture, the history of pharmacology and techniques such as acupuncture, and the global exchange of medical knowledge. Insights are offered into the twentieth-century decline of traditional medicine, as military defeats caused reformers and revolutionaries to import medical knowledge as part of the construction of a new China. Unschuld also recounts the reception of traditional Chinese medicine in the West since the 1970s, where it is often considered an alternative to Western medicine at the same time as China seeks to incorporate elements of its medical traditions into a scientific framework. This concise and compelling introduction to medical thought and history suggests that Chinese medicine is also a guide to Chinese civilization.
English-Vietnamese medical glossary : bridging the gap : medical interpreter training materials by Nguyen, H. Q., Morrow, Cathy., & Nguyen, E. Trinh
Call Number: HEC Main R121.E58vi 2003
Publication Date: 2003

Films

Auwae, Henry. (2011). The Hawaiian art of healing. Nā Maka o ka `Āina. https://sbctc-seattlecolleges.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01STATEWA_SEATTLE/1d3d7jg/alma997458150902820

Description:

From the age of five, Henry Auwae learned the art of la'au lapa'au (herbal medicine) from his grandmother, a woman whose knowledge extended back to nineteenth century Hawai'i. In this two-disk documentary series, 'Papa' Auwae shares this traditional knowledge. At a workshop in Keaukaha, Hawai'i island, he demonstrates the preparation of healing herbs and mineral rock ('alaea). In a visit to the Wao Kele o Puna rainforest, he identifies rare medicinal plants and speaks to the importance of preserving them in their natural habitat. This digitally remastered DVD set contains two and a half hours of material, replacing the original 33-minute program released in 1991. The newly edited and expanded feature documentary and special bonus features contain virtually all the footage recorded of Henry Auwae at the Hawaiian Health Fair in Keaukaha, Hawai'i, May 5, 1990, along with footage recorded at his residence in Keaukaha, and during a drive to and hike through Wao Kele o Puna rainforest, Sept. 27, 1989. Also appearing, Sabina Mahelona, Puhipau, Ipo Nihipali, Kunani Nihipali.

Focused Journals

Hawai’i journal of health & social welfare. (2019). University Health Partners of Hawai’i. Access through Library.

The Hawai’i Journal of Health & Social Welfare is a peer reviewed journal that you can access through the Seattle Colleges library. This journal has a regional focus on the environment and people of Hawai’i and the Pacific Islands. It publishes monthly, and touches on topics related to health and social welfare of this region. Content includes discussions, research articles, and advertisements.

Central Asian journal of global health. (2012). University Library System, University of Pittsburgh. Open Access eng.

The Central Asian Journal of Global Health is a peer reviewed open access journal. Its content was focused on the Central Asia region and Central Asian countries. The topics in the archived issues are about public health, medicine, and global health. Content includes research articles, reviews, and perspectives, as well as news stories, new research, practices and an open discussion on hot topics. The journal discontinued publishing after volume 10 no. 1 in 2021. It’s archived issues can be found here: https://cajgh.pitt.edu/ojs/cajgh/issue/archive

Korean Journal of Women Health Nursing. (2010). Korean Society of Women Health Nursing. Korean + Eng. Access Here Through Library.

The Korean Journal of Women Health Nursing is a peer reviewed open access journal that is regionally focused on Korea and aims at providing the latest clinical and research papers about nursing and women’s health issues. Published quarterly, its content is centered on “nursing practice, therapeutic protocols for managing health problems in women, and innovative research on gender-based issues that impact treatment and nursing care.”

Journal of Exercise Medicine. https://www.exercmed.org/ Republic of Korea

The Journal of Exercise Medicine is a peer reviewed open access journal. It has a global focus and is published in Korea.

Yeungnam University Journal of Medicine https://www.e-jyms.org/ Republic of Korea

Yeungnam University Journal of Medicine (JYMS) is a peer reviewed open access journal that is published quarterly. Regionally it focuses on Korea, however it accepts international submissions. The publishers are Yeungnam University College of Medicine and Yeungnam University Institute of Medical Science. The content “covers all fields of medical science, including clinical research, basic medical science, and medical education. JYMS is especially interested in medical education for learners of all levels, from residents and fellows to medical students.” You can expect to find “editorials, review articles, original articles, case reports, image vignettes, communications, resident fellow section (RFS; clinical vignette, teaching images), and imagery”

Traditional Medicine and Modern Medicine https://www.worldscientific.com/worldscinet/tmmm Institutes of Integrative Medicine, Fudan University, China World Scientific Publishing , Singapore

Traditional Medicine and Modern Medicine is an international Journal focusing on traditional medicines in China. It is an open access peer-reviewed journal that publishes one volume a year. It focuses on the advancement of research and medicine and promoting the development of traditional medicines worldwide. Content includes Investigations into traditional medicines, theories, modern medicine techniques, and combinations between the two. In this journal you will find research articles (including theory research), review articles, case reports, and insights.

치위생과학회지 Journal of Dental Hygiene Science, The Korean Society of Dental Hygiene Science , Korea, Republic of https://www.jkdhs.org/main.html

치위생과학회지 Journal of Dental Hygiene Science, the oldest dental hygiene journal in Korea as it was founded in 2001. It is published by The Korean Society of Dental Hygiene Science. Regionally it is focused on Korea, however global submissions are welcome. Journal of Dental Hygiene Science is open access, peer-reviewed, and publishes quarterly. Content includes “recent dental hygiene clinical trials, oral disease prevention/ treatment and related experiments, oral health-related quality of life and oral health improvement methods, oral health education, national oral health policy projects and evaluations, socio-cultural problems and treatments, and dental hygiene research methodologies.” You can expect to find original articles, review articles, case reports, short communication, and editorials.

Juntendo Medical Journal(JMJ) https://www.juntendo.ac.jp/journal/en/journal/ Published in Japan, It is considered the oldest medical journal in Japan.

The oldest medical journal in Japan - Juntendo Medical Journal (JMJ) began publication in 1875. It is peer reviewed, open access, and releases six issues per year on the topics of “basic and clinical medicine, sportology (a novel scientific field integrating sports and medicine), nursing, preventive medicine, and public health”. In this Journal you will find original articles, reviews, case reports, study protocols, perspectives, and abstracts.

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Follow the link to our current hours.

HEC Highlights: From the Display to the Digital: Spring 2024: AANHPI in Allied Health

Introduction

Books + e-books

Films

Focused Journals