Including diversity in your research may likely require you looking for experts and resources outside of the Library or traditional academic spaces. Linked below are some great starting points for engaging with activism, archives, and communities that are part of efforts to diversify citation and academic research.
Resources for Diversifying Citations:
A movement that engages with social media and aesthetic representation in order to push people to critically rethink the politics of knowledge production by engaging in a radical praxis of citation that acknowledges and honors Black women’s transnational intellectual production.
Cite Black Authors
A database that seeks to enhance recognition and citation of Black academic voices, made by and for Black researchers.
A library of open-access resources and links from several countries that foreground Indigenous methodologies, as well as Indigenous-centered content. Hosted by UNSW Sydney, the site promotes the work of First Nations and majority-world scholars to reduce citational injustices.
iPortal Indigenous Studies Research Tool
From the University of Saskatchewan, a search tool for Indigenous thinkers and contributors across many disciplines.
How to Cite Like a Badass Tech Feminist Scholar of Color
An article and printable zine that guides you in excellent critical citation practice.
Anthologies of African American Writing
Enumerative bibliography of anthologies of African American literature, including documentation of the material history of these anthologies as artifacts and collections of the discourse and reception around the anthologies.
Black Women Writers Project
The “Black Women Writer Archives Finder” compiles primary sources from Black women and gender expansive writers from across global repositories and archives, making these sources more easily discoverable.
Journals and databases that intentionally feature and center diverse voices, perspectives, and identities can serve as excellent starting points for generating research questions, search terms and keywords, and identifying experts in those fields. Within the Seattle Central College Library's Articles and Databases, interdisciplinary journals and publications from professional and academic organizations that center specific demographics can introduce a number of diverse perspectives and voices to cite but also help orient your research towards broader topics of conversation happening around social issues (especially of equity and justice) that disproportionately affect marginalized identities.
Recommended Academic Journal Starting Points: