Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
Reference & Primary Sources
City Collegian by
Call Number: Archives - Circulation Desk
Publication Date: 1966-2006
Search the digitized archive of the student newspaper.
Japanese American Internment during World War II: A History and Reference Guide by
Call Number: D769.8 .A6 N4 2002
Includes a chronology of events, 26 biographical profiles of important figures, the text of 10 key primary documents--from Executive Order 9066, which authorized the internment camps, to first-person accounts of the internment experience--a glossary of terms, and an annotative bibliography of recommended print sources and web sites.
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History by
Call Number: REF E184 .J3 E53 2002
Chronicles the history of Japanese Americans with entries that reveal their culture, religion, accomplishments, and social interactions with other ethnic groups in America.
Call Number: DS806 .E45 2002
Publication Date: 2003-03-26
This volume is divided into three sections: narrative history; significant people and places; and general reference. It is intended to help its readers get their hands around Japanese history, and to get the numbers on the economy, from post-war recovery to the Asian economic crash.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture by
Call Number: DS822.5.E516 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-14
Responding to the broadening of interest in Japanese culture beyond specialist studies, the encyclopedia is intended as an accessible reference for both specialist readers and general readers seeking information on a specific topic or wanting an overview of a theme of area of contemporary Japanese culture. It also broadens the view of Japanese to include Brazilian Japanese, Nikkei in North America, japayuki (immigrant sex workers), the Burakumin and Ainu, the Chinese and Korean populations in Japan, gaijin, the status of women, and the greying of Japan. The focus is on the period since 1945. Articles are well cross-referenced, are signed, and suggest further reading.
Asian Americans by
Call Number: E184.A75A842648 2014
This is the most comprehensive and up-to-date reference work on Asian Americans, comprising three volumes that address a broad range of topics on various Asian and Pacific Islander American groups from 1848 to the present day. The entries devote attention to diverse Asian and Pacific Islander American groups as well as the roles of women, distinct socioeconomic classes, Asian American political and social movements, and race relations involving Asian Americans. Expands the boundaries of Asian American studies through innovative entries that address transnationalism, gender and sexuality, and inter- and cross-disciplinarity
History & Memoirs
Divided Destiny by
Call Number: F899.S49J379 1998
Expanded version of Takami's catalog written for the Wing Luke Asian Museum exhibition: Executive order 9066: 50 years before and 50 years after.
Call Number: D769.8.A6L35 2008
Censored by the U.S. Army, Dorothea Lange's unseen photographs are the photographic record of the Japanese American internment saga. Presenting 119 images--the majority of which have never been published--this book evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. Nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro narrate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps.
By Order of the President by
Call Number: D769.8.A6R63 2001
On February 19, 1942, following the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbor and Japanese successes in the Pacific, President Franklin Roosevelt signed Executive Order 9066, which allowed for the summary removal of Japanese aliens and American citizens of Japanese descent from their West Coast homes, and their incarceration under guard in camps.
Amid the numerous histories of this shameful event, FDR's contributions have been seen as negligible. Now, using Roosevelt's own writings and other documents, historian Robinson reveals the president's central role in the internment and examines not only what the president did but why. This book attempts to explain how a great humanitarian leader, while fighting a war to preserve democracy, could have implemented such a profoundly unjust and undemocratic policy toward his own people.
Moving Images by
Call Number: D769.8.A6A64 2009
Moving Images examines the work of Japanese American photographers operating both during and after the incarceration, including Manzanar inmate Toyo Miyatake, who constructed his own camera to document the complicated realities of camp life for his fellow inmates. Illustrated with more than forty photographs, Moving Images reveals the significance of the camera in the process of incarceration as well as the construction of race, citizenship, and patriotism in this complex historical moment
Only What We Could Carry by
Call Number: D769.8.A6O55 2000
Personal documents, art, propaganda, and stories express the Japanese American experience in internment camps after the bombing of Pearl Harbor.
Camp Harmony by
Call Number: D769.8.A6F48 2009
A detailed portrait of one incarceration camp for Japanese American internees.
Citizen 13660 by
Call Number: D769.8.A6O38 1983
Drawings with brief comments by the author describe her memories of life in a California internment camp during World War II.
Call Number: D769.8.A6 R43 2015
This book provides an authoritative account of the internment of more than 120,000 Japanese-Americans and Japanese aliens during World War II. Less than three months after Japan bombed Pearl Harbor and inflamed the nation, President Roosevelt signed an executive order declaring parts of four western states to be a war zone operating under military rule.
Snow Falling on Cedars by
Call Number: PS3557.U846S65 1995
San Piedro Island, north of Puget Sound, is a place so isolated that no one who lives there can afford to make enemies. But in 1954 a local fisherman is found suspiciously drowned, and a Japanese American named Kabuo Miyamoto is charged with his murder. In the course of the ensuing trial, it becomes clear that what is at stake is more than a man's guilt. Above all, San Piedro is haunted by the memory of what happened to its Japanese residents during World War II, when an entire community was sent into exile while its neighbors watched.
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by
Call Number: PS3606.O737 H68 2009b
Set in the ethnic neighborhoods of Seattle during World War II and Japanese American internment camps of the era, this debut novel tells the heartwarming story of widower Henry Lee, his father, and his first love Keiko Okabe.
No-No Boy by
Call Number: PS3565.K33N6 1981
In the aftermath of World War II, Ichiro, a Japanese American, returns home to Seattle to make a new start after two years in an internment camp and two years in prison for refusing to be drafted.
Call Number: PR9199.3.K63O2 1994
The narrator learns about the experiences of her grandmother, Obasan, who was among those Japanese Canadians relocated to internment camps at the beginning of World War II.
When the Emperor Was Divine by
Call Number: FIC OTSUKA
A story told from five different points of view chronicles the experiences of Japanese Americans caught up in the nightmare of the World War II internment camps.
Why She Left Us by
Call Number: PS3568.I87W49 2000
On the eve of World War II, young Emi Okada gives up her baby for adoption, but her mother finds the boy and brings him home. "This crucial event ... dramatically alters the lives of Emi's parents, siblings, and, later, her children. Betrayals and secrets tear apart a family that is already struggling with assimilation, intergenerational conflict, and war.
Catalog Search Tips
To find more resources about the Day of Remembrance and Japanese-American internment, use Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945. as a subject search in the library catalog. Searching for terms such as "internment" or "concentration camps" won't return as many or as focused results.