Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
Find Federal Legislation
Most laws passed by Congress are public laws. Public laws affect society as a whole. Search laws passed by Congress here. "Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public."
Research Current Federal Legislation and Regulations
Research Legislative History, Debate, Context
Researching Legislative History
This useful guide from the Library of Congress will help you track down the background and events leading up to the passing of your federal law. Some of the resources described are subscription-only (and we don't subscribe), but I think it's still useful to see the process.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
Use HeinOnline to find legislative histories. See complete instructions for how to find them here: https://help.heinonline.org/kb/how-to-search-in-the-sources-of-compiled-legislative-histories-database/ . Note that not all laws have compiled legislative histories, and some may have a compiled legislative history that is not contained in this database.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Includes global and local newspaper articles and some television news from three collections: Access World News, Washington State News, and Seattle Times (1985-present). Mostly English and some non-English content from international media.
State Laws: Legislative and Executive
Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
"The Revised Code of Washington (RCW) is the compilation of all permanent laws now in force. It is a collection of Session Laws (enacted by the Legislature, and signed by the Governor, or enacted via the initiative process), arranged by topic, with amendments added and repealed laws removed."
Washington Administrative Code (WAC)
Items in the WAC are from the executive branch or executive agencies of our state government.
City & County Legislation
Seattle City Council Legislation and Research
"Ordinances are items of legislation that have the force of law; before they are approved by Council they are known as Council Bills. The Seattle City Council has authority to create City policies and adopt budgets in the form of Ordinances. Ordinances must comply with terms of the U.S. and Washington State constitutions, the general laws of the City and State, and the City Charter.
The City Council may also offer its collective opinion on matters in the form of Resolutions. Resolutions are items of legislation that are advisory or policy-oriented in nature."
King County Policies, Public Rules, and Interlocal Agreements
"This site contains all approved Executive Orders, Public Rules, Executive Policies (executive branch agencies) and Department Policies (executive branch agencies)."