Library: HIST 214: Pacific Northwest History, Tracy Lai: Academic Articles

Recommended Databases

For more database options, check the complete list of library databases.

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database with more than more than 13,600 indexed and abstracted journals and full text for over 4,700 journals. Content includes health & medicine, language & linguistics, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and computer science.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Covers historical themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Sources include essays, journal articles, biographies and primary sources. Good for getting research topic ideas.

This is a great tutorial to help students understand what scholarly articles are, how they are written, and why they are important.

Many databases offer both full-text (yay!) and citations (grr!). When the full-text is not available, try this:

1. In the database, click the journal linker button or "search journal title" to check for it in other library databases

2. Limit the search to "full-text" and find another article

3. Search other libraries for the periodical:

4. Get the article from another library: