Skip to main content
 Home  206-934-4050  Ask a Librarian  Book a Study Room  Schedule a Research Appointment  Log In/Renew

Occupy Seattle: For the Researcher

Electronic Reference

Use these online encyclopedias to find general overview information on a broad range of topics related to the Occupy movement, such as race relations or the history of activism.

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice  3v, 2007

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History 6v, 2nd ed. 2006

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society 2v, 2009

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism 3v, 2009

Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society 3v, 2008

Encyclopedia of Social Problems  2v,  2008

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology  2v,  2007

Encyclopedia of Social Theory  2v,  2005

Poverty in America: An Encyclopedia 2008

Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources  2007


~Visit the e-Reference Shelf for many more.

Research Databases

A Database is an specialized search engine for finding articles, typically provided by a library. Most allow keyword and subject searches to find full-text articles and citations to articles.

Selected Books on Activism and Relevant Issues

Selected Reference Books

These reference books may provide context, in-depth analysis and dicussion, a broad view of a specific topic, perspectives of experts in the field, and historical information on issues related to the Occupy movement.  They can be found in the Central Library reference collection.

Revolutionary Movements in World History

D295.R49 2006

Activists, Rebels, and Reformers

HN17.5.E534 2001

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice

HM671.E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Globalization

JZ1318.E63 2007

The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy

HF1373.P75 2009

Poverty in the United States:  An Encyclopedia

HC110.P6P598 2004

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

HM425.B53 2007

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare

HV40.C635 2008

Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics

JK9.G46 2009

Culture Wars in America

HN90.M6U85 2010

Encyclopedia of Community

HM756.E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History...

HQ76.3.U5E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Social Issues

HN57 .E59 1997

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology

HM1007.E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Women’s Issues Worldwide

HQ1236.5.A35G74 2003

U.S. Environmental Policy and Politics

GE180.U185 2010

Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement

GE195.P36 2007

Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability

GE140.B47 2010

Statistical Abstract of the United States (annual)

HA202