Library: SHS 198/199 Summer Field Practicum: Home

Welcome

This guide has resources to help you map your community.

Image Source: "Distribution of Coast Salish languages in the early 19th century" By Noahedits - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0

U.S. Census Bureau Quick Facts
Search by state, county, city, or zip to find basic census facts about a community.
Urban Institute Maps
Interactive maps on specific topics such as rental housing, public schools, poverty, and more.
Seattle Data
Data about Seattle from the city's Office of Planning and Community Development. If you are mapping a community other than Seattle, search Google to find a similar city office for your location.

Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text. Provides content "for social workers and mental health professionals. It covers a wide array of topics such as adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work and diversity."
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Comprehensive sociology database. Includes peer-reviewed/scholarly articles on a wide range of sociological topics, including: gender studies, social work, substance abuse, violence, and more.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly and magazine articles on psychology and counseling topics.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. All-in-one search of multiple Ebsco databases. Includes peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, ebooks, and more. This is a good starting point for most research.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple ProQuest databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.

Email Me

The citation style used in Social and Human Services is APA, so use the guide below for help with citing your sources.