Library: History 137 (Spiegler): Welcome

Welcome

This guide is a starting point for students researching United States History.

Guides Related to this Subject

Government Publications
by Katy Dichter Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 49 views this year

Primary Sources
by Dave Ellenwood Last Updated Jun 27, 2022 577 views this year

Statistics
by Dave Ellenwood Last Updated Jan 18, 2024 30 views this year

Cite Your Sources

The citation style required on history assignments is usually Chicago Style, so use the guide below for help with citing your sources.

Chicago Style Guide

Reference: background information

Search online

Gale Encyclopedias & eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Use Document Type "OVERVIEW" limit for encyclopedia articles offering background research on many subjects. Topics include social sciences, business, history, art, science, health, and more.

ebrary united states history eBooks
See a list of over 11,000 United States History eBooks, or search the whole ebrary eBook collection.

Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Covers historical themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Sources include essays, journal articles, biographies and primary sources. Good for getting research topic ideas.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple ProQuest databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.

Web Sites

HistoryLink.org This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Frequently updated encyclopedia of local and Washington state history.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
First hand accounts, photographs and other resources related to the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II.
Digital Public Library of America
"Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."
Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects
Search this UW resource on the history of labor and civil rights movements in the Northwest. Includes interviews, photographs, newspaper articles, and historical essays.
The Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content
The Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content (DCC) "brings together cultural heritage collections and exhibits from libraries, museums, and archives from across the country."
The American Presidency Project: State of the Union Addresses and Messages
Full text of presidential State of the Union Addresses and Messages from 1790 to present.

Relevant Books at Central

Encyclopedia of the Reconstruction Era by Richard Zuczek
Call Number: Reference: E668 .E53 2006
ISBN: 0313330735
Publication Date: 2006-08-30
Offers more than 260 alphabetically arranged articles on the period of Reconstruction in American history, covering persons, concepts, institutions, laws, elections, organizations, and each Southern state.

Streaming Videos

Films on Demand
Nearly 19,000 streaming films on all topics.
History Channel Video
The History Channel provides a wide range of media including articles and videos about U.S. and World history.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos. A wide variety of award-winning documentaries and
theatrical releases. Expanded collection of 10,000 titles covering diverse areas of study. 'How to View' Instructions

Subject Librarian

Dave Ellenwood

Email Me

Contact:

206-934-6336