History 136 (Spiegler)

Slaves and the Courts, 1740-1860, contains just over a hundred pamphlets and books (published between 1772 and 1889) concerning the difficult and troubling experiences of African and African-American slaves in the American colonies and the United States.

Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project (FWP) of the Works Progress Administration, later renamed Work Projects Administration (WPA).

This website makes available the text of the celebrated Nebraska edition of the Lewis and Clark journals, edited by Gary E. Moulton. This website makes available the text of the celebrated Nebraska edition of the Lewis and Clark journals, edited by Gary E. Moulton.

Use this to find printed texts on how Southern African Americans experienced and transformed Protestant Christianity into the central institution of community life from 1780-1925. Coverage begins with white churches' conversion efforts, especially in the post-Revolutionary period, and depicts the tensions and contradictions between the egalitarian potential of evangelical Christianity and the realities of slavery.

Use this to find photographs and letters that illustrate the story of settlement on the Great Plains.

Nearly 19,000 streaming films on all topics.

The History Channel provides a wide range of media including articles and videos about U.S. and World history.

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics.

First hand accounts, photographs and other resources related to the incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II.

"Brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science."

The Institute of Museum and Library Services' Digital Collections and Content (DCC) "brings together cultural heritage collections and exhibits from libraries, museums, and archives from across the country."

Full text of presidential State of the Union Addresses and Messages from 1790 to present.