Library: Communications: Home

Welcome

This guide is a starting point for research for students researching Communications

Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels.

Course Guides for this Subject

Reference: Background Information

Search online
Featured reference resources

GVRL Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Hundreds of encyclopedias for background research on many subjects. A good place to get overviews for your topic. Topics include business, history, art, science, health, and more.

Browse the library reference collection in call number areas:

H Social Sciences

HM Sociology

P-PC Linguistics, Communication, Mass Media

Here's a sample of the titles you'll find there.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
Call Number: HN59.2.E343 2011
ISBN: 9780313392047
Publication Date: 2010-12-22
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications by Donald H. Johnston (Editor)
Call Number: P87.5.E535 2003
ISBN: 0123876702
Publication Date: 2003-05-17
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by Todd M. Schaefer; Thomas A. Birkland
Call Number: P95.82.U6E47 2007
ISBN: 1568028350
Publication Date: 2006-10-27
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Janet M. Bennett (Editor)
Call Number: HM1211 .S24 2015
ISBN: 1452244286
Publication Date: 2015-05-08

Books

ProQuest eBook Central
Search thousands of eBooks on topics including: Language, Journalism, and Social Science. Choose your desired subject to begin searching.
EBSCOhost eBooks
See a list of EBSCOhost's Communication focused eBook titles, or search the whole eBook collection.

The News Media by C. W. Anderson; Leonard Downie; Michael Schudson
Call Number: PN4855 .A63 2016
ISBN: 9780190206192
Publication Date: 2016-09-08
Present Like a Pro by Carl Hausman; D4EO Literary Agency Staff
Call Number: HF5718.22 .H39 2017
ISBN: 9781440853289
Publication Date: 2017-01-26
Resistance Advocacy as News by Benjamin Rex LaPoe; Victoria L. LaPoe
Call Number: PN4882.5 .L26 2018
ISBN: 9781498566858
Publication Date: 2018-01-30

Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple ProQuest databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Comprehensive sociology database. Includes peer-reviewed/scholarly articles on a wide range of sociological topics, including: gender studies, social work, substance abuse, violence, and more.

Streaming Videos

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 1,500 streaming videos on human communication and media studies.

Cite Your Sources

The citation styles required for Humanities assignments are usually MLA or Chicago, so use the appropriate guide below for help with citing your sources.

Subject Librarian

Sharon Spence-Wilcox

she/her/hers

Email Me

New look for the Library Catalog login screen. See the Accessing Databases page for a refresher on how to set it up.
Still need help? Contact: IT Help or email, ITHelp@seattlecolleges.edu

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Communications

Welcome

Course Guides for this Subject

Reference: Background Information

Books

Articles

Streaming Videos

Cite Your Sources

Subject Librarian

New look for the Library Catalog login screen. See the Accessing Databases page for a refresher on how to set it up. Still need help? Contact: IT Help or email, ITHelp@seattlecolleges.edu

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Communications

Welcome

Course Guides for this Subject

Reference: Background Information

Books

Articles

Streaming Videos

Cite Your Sources

Subject Librarian

New look for the Library Catalog login screen. See the Accessing Databases page for a refresher on how to set it up.
Still need help? Contact: IT Help or email, ITHelp@seattlecolleges.edu