Library: Allied Health: Find Sources

Welcome

HEC Circulation
206-934-4113

HEC Librarian
206-934-4497

Questions?
Call Seattle Central College
Library Reference Desk
206-934-5421 or 934-5422

This guide is a starting point for students researching Allied Health.

Films on Demand: Health and Medicine
Online streaming films related allied health.
Simulation Orientation Videos
This interdisciplinary tool, created by Parkland College, provides a basic understanding of how to effectively use simulators as practice toward eventually interacting with human patients.

ebrary Allied Health eBooks
See a list of Allied Health eBooks, or search the whole ebrary eBook collection.
EBSCOhost eBooks
See a list of EBSCOhost's Health eBook titles, or search the whole eBook collection.

MedlinePlus
You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations.
MyHealthFinder
Health and disease prevention topics and tools for consumers; search by population or topic. Provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
PHPartners
Links to data on the health of a population at the local, state and national level.

Medline with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles from many of the most-used journals on biomedical and health. Coverage dates back to 1949.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Book chapters and peer reviewed/scholarly articles. A good starting place for health, science and technology research. Includes College Edition: Health and Life Sciences Journal Collection.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) This link opens in a new window
Full-text. The leading resource for credible systematic reviews in health care.
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Top scholarly journals in Nursing and Allied Health. Includes over 610 journals with coverage dating back to 1981.

PubMed
Peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences journals from the U.S. National Institutes of Health.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. All-in-one search of multiple Ebsco databases. Includes peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, ebooks, and more. This is a good starting point for most research.
Nursing - Ovid Basic Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Access to peer reviewed/scholarly articles from five well-known nursing journals including AJN: American Journal of Nursing and Nursing.
ProQuest Consumer Health This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Includes magazines and peer reviewed/scholarly journals covering a wide range of health subjects including sports injuries, women's health, food, nutrition, dentistry and more.

Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Recent and authoritative reference, magazine, peer reviewed/scholarly journals, and pamphlet sources. Includes alternative health sources and drug & herb information.
Gale Encyclopedias & eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Use Document Type "OVERVIEW" limit for encyclopedia articles offering background research on many subjects. Topics include social sciences, business, history, art, science, health, and more.

The citation styles required for assignments are usually APA or AMA, so use the appropriate guide below for help with citing your sources.