Library: Black History &amp; Culture Month: Celebrations &amp; Collections

Celebrations of Black Joy

Celebrating Black History at Carnegie Hall
"highlights of the rich history of artists and notable figures who have appeared at the Hall throughout our history, incorporating photos, audio, video, and historic materials from Carnegie Hall’s Archives."
Digital Schomburg
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture presents virtual programs and exhibitions, and live-streamed events on the black experience.
McIntosh County Shouters: Gullah-Geechee Ring Shout from Georgia
In 1980, the McIntosh County Shouters, a ten-member Gullah-Geechee group began performing professionally. They have educated and entertained audiences around the United States with the "ring shout," a compelling fusion of counterclockwise dance-like movement, call-and-response singing, and percussion consisting of handclaps and a stick beating the rhythm on a wooden floor. African in its origins, the ring shout affirms oneness with the Spirit and ancestors as well as community cohesiveness.
Northwest African American Museum (NAAM)
NAAM's "preserves the connections between the Pacific Northwest and people of African descent, and celebrates Black experiences in America.
Wild Blue Angel: Jimi Hendrix Abroad, 1966-1970 at MOPOP
Wild Blue Angel: Hendrix Abroad, 1966-1970 offers a contemplative look at the period of Hendrix’s life spent on the road as he catapulted to fame.
more...less...
Discover the shy genius of Hendrix through an immersive gallery soundtrack featuring rare Hendrix interview clips; Hendrix’s only passport, issued on the day he left for London on September 23, 1966; his diary, where he recounts friends, shows, and experiences from the road; an Electric Lady mixing console from the personal recording studio he used during the last weeks of his life; and other original artifacts, artwork, and photographs.
Fight the Power: How Hip Hop Changed the World
Explore the history and future of Hip Hop. Inspired by PBS’s new documentary series “Fight the Power: How Hip Hop Changed the World,” by Executive Producers Chuck D and Lorrie Boula,

Resources

Disability Justice must be rooted in the dismantling of white supremacy, anti-blackness, and colonialism. Any less cannot be considered true justice.

- tangledarts.org (a site of political engagement for disability arts and culture)

9 Disabled African Americans You Should Know About
"In honor of Black History Month, and an awesome social awareness discussion that occurred the other night, I've collected 9 famous disabled African Americans you should know about. Ranging from social activists to athletes, I hope you'll learn something about people you already knew about - and some you didn't!"
Exploring the Intersection of Black History and Disability Inclusion
From the U.S. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR BLOG: "Black Americans in the civil rights movement have had a significant influence on America’s disability rights movement, with some playing crucial roles in both efforts. Much of the progress we have made as a nation achieving positive change for historically marginalized people and communities have been led by Black Americans with disabilities."
Honoring Black History Month: Unsung Heroes of the Disability Rights Movement
"This month, we’re highlighting the stories of Black heroes whose vision, commitment and activism helped advance progress for people with disabilities."
Making #BLACKDISABLEDHISTORY: Changemakers
Meet the people making history and making changes.

Bodyminds reimagined : (dis)ability, race, and gender in Black women's speculative fiction by Sami Schalk
Call Number: PS153.B53 S33 2018
ISBN: 9780822371830
Publication Date: 2018-03-15
Online availability.
"Traces how black women's speculative fiction complicates the understanding of bodyminds - the intertwinement of the mental and the physical - in the context of race, gender and (dis)ability. Bridging black feminist theory and disability studies, the author demonstrates that this genre's political potential lies in the authors' creation of bodyminds that transcend reality's limitations. "
Disabilities of the color line : redressing antiblackness from slavery to the present by Dennis Tyler
Call Number: E185 .T95 2022
ISBN: 9781479831128
Publication Date: 2022-02-15
"Disabilities of the Color Line examines how Black writer-activists have engaged in an aesthetics of redress: modes of resistance that show how Black communities have rigorously acknowledged disability as a response to forms of racial injury and in the pursuit of racial and disability justice"
The mark of slavery : disability, race, and gender in antebellum America by Jenifer L. Barclay
Call Number: Online availability.
ISBN: 9780252052613
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
"Jenifer L. Barclay examines the ubiquitous narratives that depicted black people with disabilities as pitiable, monstrous, or comical, narratives used not only to defend slavery but argue against it. As she shows, this relationship between ableism and racism impacted racial identities during the antebellum period and played an overlooked role in shaping American history afterward. Barclay also illuminates the everyday lives of the ten percent of enslaved people who lived with disabilities. "

Ten Principles of Disability Justice
Project MUSE: promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources... Patricia Berne, Aurora Levins Morales, David Langstaff, Sins Invalid
WSQ: Women's Studies Quarterly
The Feminist Press, Volume 46, Numbers 1 & 2, Spring/Summer 2018, pp. 227-230, 10.1353/wsq.2018.0003
Article
more...less...
Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a trusted part of the academic and scholarly community it serves.

African American Queer Studies (ch.20) by David Ross Fryer
ISBN: 9780631235163
Publication Date: 2006-02-10
[read online] ...contains sections titled: 'Introduction - A Genealogy of African‐American Queer Studies' and 'Future Directions of African‐American Queer Studies'
Black Intersectionalities by Monica Michlin (Editor); Jean-Paul Rocchi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781846319389
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
[read online] "explores the complex interrelationships between race, gender, and sex as these are conceptualised within contemporary thought."

16 queer black pioneers who made history
“As long as there have been black people, there have been black LGBTQ and same-gender-loving people,” David J. Johns, executive director of the National Black Justice Coalition, told NBC News. “Racism combined with the forces of stigma, phobia, discrimination, and bias associated with gender and sexuality have too often erased the contributions of members of our community."
Black Nations/Queer Nations? Lesbian and Gay Sexualities in the African Diaspora
Experimental documentary from the Academic Video Online streaming media database. Database description: "draws connections between popular culture and contemporary black gay media production. The participants discuss various topics: Black and queer identity, the shortcomings of Black nationalism, and homophobia in Black communities."
The Missing Colors of the Rainbow: Black Queer Resistance
[journal article] "reconstructs a paradigm for radical queer politics in the force-field of traditional notions of black masculinity and femininity and queerness as a destabilizer of both, bringing queerness back into a marginal position from which it can be critical of the state."

New York Times Presents The #1619 Project
An evening of conversation and performance featuring Nikole Hannah-Jones, Wesley Morris, Jamelle Bouie, Tyehimba Jess and more regarding the 1619 project.
more...less...
Four hundred years ago, on August 20, 1619, a ship carrying more than 20 enslaved Africans arrived in Virginia.
African American History Month
The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans.
ART | library deco!
An online African American virtual art library, archiving the visual experience of art, literature, and history through the eyes of artists and institutions in the United States and abroad.
Black History Month research topic
From eLibrary Academic database. Contains a selection of articles covering: History and Overview; To Celebrate or Not; and Looking Back, Moving Forward
Black Past
BlackPast.org is an online reference center makes available a wealth of materials on African American history in one central location on the Internet.
Carla Hayden, Librarian of Congress
Carla Hayden describes her journey from nomination, confirmation, and inauguration as 14th Librarian of Congress.
Celebrate Black History Month
Includes civil rights audio recordings, rare historical photographs, hip-hop party and event fliers, and much more.
Intersectionality Matters Podcast
The African American Policy Forum (AAPF) is an innovative think tank that connects academics, activists, and policy-makers to promote efforts to dismantle structural inequality. We utilize new ideas and innovative perspectives to transform public discourse and policy.
Journey to Jazz and Human Rights, episode 1 (soundcloud)
Episode 1 of The Journey to Jazz and Human Rights documentary podcast series.
Journey to Jazz and Human Rights, episode 3 (soundcloud)
We know the star women vocalists of Jazz: Billie, Ella. But beyond the fame are the women of jazz who toiled behind the scenes, faced discrimination, and set a course for women in the arts. In particular, artists owe a debt to the great composer and arranger, Mary Lou Williams. On part three of Journey to jazz and Human Rights, the women of jazz and the obstacles they faced, the rights they claimed.
Maya Angelou: And Still I Rise
[watch online] ...celebrates Dr. Maya Angelou by weaving her words with rare and intimate archival photographs and videos, which paint hidden moments of her exuberant life during some of America's most defining moments.
KCTS9 (PBS) Black Culture Connection
Explore Black history and culture though films, stories, and voices across public media.
National Museum of African American History and Culture
The only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

Black History is the First Weapon against White Supremacy (Editor’s Commentary) by Ivory A. Toldson
Publication Date: Fall 2019
Toldson asserts that the history of Black people, as taught in most schools, is replete with victimization and despair, with isolated flashpoints of individual heroes. In fact, heroes throughout Black history are the rule, not the exception.
Deep Skin: Reconstructing Congo Square by Joseph R. Roach
ISBN: 9780195127249
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
This chapter from the book, African American Performance and Theater History: A Critical Reader, is about history and memory and Congo Square.
I Am Not Your Negro by James Baldwin; Raoul Peck
[watch online] ...a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #blacklivesmatter
Jacob Lawrence, The Migration of the Negro series
from the ArtSTOR database "Jacob Lawrence is most widely known for the Migration of the Negro, an epic narrative series of sixty paintings that he completed in 1941 at the age of twenty-four.The series, which was painted in bright tempera paints on small hardboard panels — all of which are accompanied by captions — depicts the flight of millions of African Americans from the rural South to the urban North during and after the First World War."
Lift Every Voice by Oprah Winfrey (Foreword by); Nikole Hannah-Jones (Introduction by)
ISBN: 9781950785810
Publication Date: 2022-04-26

PODCASTS:

The AfroFuturist Project: Interviews of artistis, futurists, technologists, scientists, media professionals, and anyone in between creating the world of tomorrow today.

TEDx TALKS:

Hip Hop & Science Fiction: Gabriel Teodros at TEDxRainier: "If we don't write ourselves into the future, we get written out of tomorrow as well." This talk was given at TEDxRainier in Seattle on November 10, 2012.

Afrofuturism in popular culture: Wanuri Kahiu at TEDxNairobi: Wanuri Kahiu is a Kenyan film director, producer, and author. She has received several awards and nominations for the films which she directed, including the awards for Best Director, Best Screenplay, and Best Picture at the Africa Movie Academy Awards in 2009 for her dramatic feature film From a Whisper.

Afrofuturism: Art Term
From the Tate Galleries, a visual interpretation of Afrofuturism
Beginner's Guide to Afrofuturism
Essence magazine offers an overview with a recommendation of 7 books and films.
Schomburg Center presents: Black Feminist Futures Series: Black Women and Theories of the Future
Presented by the Schomburg Center's 10th Annual Black Comic Book Festival in partnership with Carnegie Hall’s Afrofuturism Festival!

The Black Feminist Futures Series features programs highlighting the powerful and long-standing relationship between Afrofuturism and Black feminism in genres ranging from literature, film, art, fashion, and community organizing.
more...less...
Black Woman and Theories of the Future, is a virtual conversation detailing and discussing Black women's cultural and academic contributions to Afrofuturism past, present, and future. The program features Dr. Susana Morris (Georgia Institute of Technology), Dr. Kinitra Brooks (Michigan State University), Dr. Esther Jones (Clark University), Dr. Tiffany Barber (University of Delaware), and Dr. Grace Gipson (Virginia Commonwealth University).

Afrofuturism by Ytasha L. Womack
ISBN: 9781613747964
Publication Date: 2013-10-01
Black Women in Sequence by Deborah Elizabeth Whaley
ISBN: 9780295994956
Publication Date: 2015-11-01
Bodyminds Reimagined by Sami Schalk
ISBN: 9780822370734
Publication Date: 2018-03-26

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Follow the link to our current hours.

Black History & Culture Month: Celebrations & Collections

Celebrations of Black Joy

Resources

Disability Justice must be rooted in the dismantling of white supremacy, anti-blackness, and colonialism. Any less cannot be considered true justice.