Library: Art: Home

Welcome

This guide is a starting point for research for students studying Art.

Image Source: "Pumpkin" by Yayoi Kusama via Artstor,

Course Guides for this Subject

Reference: background information

Search online

Gale Virtual Reference Library Arts Collection
Great for getting started with your topic. Search art-specific titles in our online library of reference books on all subjects.

Our library has a significant number of books on visual arts. Identify important words/phrases on your topic. Also try standard search terms that librarians use to specify formats or sub-topics.

-- exhibitions

-- in art

-- pictorial works

-- catalogs

EBSCOhost eBooks
See a list of EBSCOhost's Arts & Architecture eBook titles, or search the whole eBook collection.
ebrary Fine Arts eBooks
See a list of 725 Fine Arts eBooks, or search the whole ebrary eBook collection.

Articles

Art databases
Other databases

Here's how to find images in our databases:

Go to the Advanced Search option of the database and look for phrases like "limit to document with images" or "Include images," etc.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Covers historical themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present. Sources include essays, journal articles, biographies and primary sources. Good for getting research topic ideas.

Images & Streaming Videos

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Images. Over 2 million images covering art history, architecture, archeology, fashion and much more from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.

Art21
The Art21 Library includes every film produced by Art21 since its first broadcast in 2001. Over 60 hours of full episodes from each of Art21’s television and digital series are always on view, free of charge.
Films on Demand: Art & Architecture Collection
Nearly 900 streaming films about art & architecture.

Cite Your Sources

The citation style required on Art History assignments is usually MLA. Use the guide below for help with citing your sources.

MLA Style Guide

Get tips on citing images in MLA style

Web Sites

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Under “Works of Art,” each entry includes related timelines, thematic essays, and supporting materials. Users can also search by artist, title, material, and technique, etc.
Smarthistory: A Multimedia Web-Book about Art and Art History
Brings art history to life in an engaging and dynamic manner. This clearly designed website can be searched by time period, style, artist, or theme.

Subject Librarian

Sharon Spence-Wilcox

she/her/hers

Email Me

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Follow the link to our current hours.

Art