Welcome - AME111: Asian American & Pacific Islander Communities and Issues - Dang

CONTEXT

Need some topic ideas or background on your selected issue? Browse these subject encyclopedias.

Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia
Covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society.
Asian American Society
Examines the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience.

ANALYSIS & COMMENTARY

Looking for commentary on trends, perspectives, and scholarly research? Use your keywords to search these library databases for articles on the API student experience.

EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. All-in-one search of multiple Ebsco databases. Includes peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, ebooks, and more. This is a good starting point for most research.
ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple ProQuest databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.

Library Catalog
Search for books on our shelves and online, AND see if there are relevant documentary films in our streaming media collection.

RELATED GUIDES

Community Support and Justice
by Althea Lazzaro Last Updated Nov 13, 2023 446 views this year

DATA & REPORTS

Both quantitative and qualitative data can be helpful for your project. Here are a few resources offering statistics and opinion polls.

WASHINGTON STATE

Education Research & Data Center
The ERDC offers data dashboards for researchers of the education experience in Washington State.
WA State Board of Community & Technical Colleges
View one-pagers, fact sheets and issue briefs on student success initiatives and other topics at Washington state community and technical colleges. Includes links to annual reports, research papers and data.
Washington Student Achievement Council
Reports and publications on topics including Equity, Enrollments, Student Supports, and more.

NATION-WIDE

Condition of Education Indicators
Contains key indicators on all levels of education and labor force outcomes, summarizing important developments and trends using the latest statistics. Compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Digest of Education Statistics
Provides a compilation of statistical information covering American education from prekindergarten through graduate school, including data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
Pew Research Center: Numbers, Facts and Trends Shaping Your World
Pew Research Center is good for finding out the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Up-to-date, authoritative, and comprehensive summary of statistics on the
social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

To find more information about the services offered, visit our Library Services page

Follow the link to our current hours.

AME111: Asian American & Pacific Islander Communities and Issues - Dang: Welcome

Welcome -- Workshop Overview

CONTEXT

ANALYSIS & COMMENTARY

RELATED GUIDES

DATA & REPORTS