History (African American)

Two special collections of public broadcasting materials are focused on African American history: "Voices from the Southern Civil Rights Movement" and "Televising Black Politics in the Black Power Era".

The collection contains many digitized oral history interviews about Birmingham Alabama's civil rights history.

This documentary website tells the story of how young activists in SNCC united with local people in the Deep South to build a grassroots movement for change that empowered the Black community and transformed the nation.

Search 17 African American history collections.

The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of African Americans.

This Washington State Archives oral history project which focuses on the Black community in Seattle and King County. These 69 interviews were conducted by Esther Hall Mumford in 1975 and 1976, and include audio, transcripts, and negatives. Transcriptions were created shortly after the interviews took place. Negatives can include portraits of interviewees, as well as images taken of photographs, clippings, and other items belonging to or relating to interviewees.

A selection of freely available and browsable primary source documents.

A wide range of reference and primary sources in African American and African history. Black past was started by a University of Washington History professor, Dr. Quintard Taylor.

Black Quotidian explores everyday lives of African Americans in the twentieth century. Drawing on an archive of digitized African-American newspapers, Matthew F. Delmont guides readers through a wealth of primary resources that reveal how the Black press popularized African-American history and valued the lives of both famous and ordinary Black people.

The Freedom Archives contains over 12,000 hours of audio and video recordings as well as print materials dating primarily from the late-1960s to the mid-90s. These collections chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements for liberation and social justice.

The HistoryMakers is a national non-profit research and educational institution committed to preserving and making widely accessible the untold personal stories of both well-known and unsung African Americans.

This site is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation. Each migration is presented through five units: (1) A narrative, (2) 100 illustrations, (3) from twenty to forty research resources consisting of essays, books, book chapters, articles, and manuscripts, (4) Maps, (5) and lesson plans.

The only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.

One of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.

This digital memorial explores the dispersal of enslaved Africans across the Atlantic world. It raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them.

Nearly 19,000 streaming films on all topics.