Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library! We are open, 8am - 4pm, Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday; 8am - 6pm, Tuesday. We are available remotely on Friday.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
Information in the Research Process
Join the Information Cycle
Use Encyclopedias for Background Information
Reference sources (including subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and almanacs) are a great way to find understandable, and factual background information on your chosen topic,
To find print encyclopedias, browse the library's Reference shelves in subject areas that relate to your research interest or use the library catalog to search for encyclopedias that might contain specific articles on your topic.
To find online encyclopedias, use one of the library databases below to search for information on your topic. Experiment with search functions to narrow or broaden your results:
Access Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Encyclopedia articles on math and science topics. Includes biographies for scientific figures, and science and technology developments.
GVRL Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Hundreds of encyclopedias for background research on many subjects. A good place to get overviews for your topic. Topics include business, history, art, science, health, and more.
Examples of available online encyclopedias: