Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We have a new database login system! The only change occurs when signing on for the first time, either off campus or on campus using Wi-Fi. Learn more
To find more information about the services offered, visit our
Library Services page
ONLINE SEARCH TIPS
Put phrases "in quotes".
Use OR to combine synonyms:
Use AND to combine main ideas of your topic/question.
Truncate (with *) to get all variations of a search term
Change important search terms to Subjects for narrower and more relevant results
SEARCH RESULTS CLUES
Start with the Title and the Abstract (or summary) of the article.
Then scan the Subject Headings to learn what the article’s focus areas are.
Notice if the type of article matches what you need; don’t get fooled by a book review or editorial.
See if you have access to the full-text of your chosen article, possibly in another database
Searching is strategic
This tutorial will offer students some ways to make their searching more efficient and productive.
Find Magazine or News Articles or Broadcasts
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
Gale Databases Power Search This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. All-in-one search of multiple Gale databases. Find peer reviewed/scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, and ebooks. A good starting place for most research.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Includes global and local newspaper articles and some television news from three collections: Access World News, Washington State News, and Seattle Times (1985-present). Mostly English and some non-English content from international media.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Essays, magazine and newspaper articles, and primary source documents to help support arguments on many sides of controversial topics.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
Find Books and Documentary Films
Search the for books, films, ebooks, streaming media, and more. Library Catalog
Research databases: what are they and why are they useful?
This tutorial provides an excellent explanation of databases and why they're useful. It was created by the librarians at Yavapai College.