Home  (206) 934-4050  Ask the Library  Schedule a Research Appointment  Library Account/Renew
Library staff are currently working remotely. Information about library services
and instruction/learning support during the pandemic is available here, REMOTE LIBRARY SERVICES

ENGL102: Composition II, Stacey Levine

Welcome

This course guide is a starting point for research for students in Stacey Levine's ENGL102 at Seattle Central College. Find recommended resources and tutorials to help you on your research journey.  And remember to bring curiosity, patience, and flexibility.

Using Encyclopedias to Get Started

Why Encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias are an excellent place to begin your research! 

  • Find background information, overviews, summaries, statistics, etc.
  • Find keywords for searching
  • Written by subject experts

Using Documentary Films

 

Search the Library Catalog to find films.

 

Catalog Search Tip to find streaming media: 

In the library catalog's results page, look for the Refine My Results column on the left.  Under Show Only, select the "Available Online" filter. This will narrow the results to only show the items in our collection that you can access any time, anywhere.

Further down the column, under Resource Type, select the "Videos" filter. This will narrow results to only show film titles and segments from our streaming media collections.

Why Film?

Similar to encyclopedias, documentaries serve as an information gateway.  The audiovisual format brings life to subjects, providing background and brief analysis of a topic. Most films in our library's streaming media collections include transcripts to help you follow the narration and keep track of useful quotes to cite in your research.

How do I...? Research

These tutorials are helpful to watch at the beginning of your research process because they share strategies for choosing searchable topics, brainstorming keywords, and making connections among your searches.

Need Research Help?

If you can't find what you need in this guide, ask a librarian! Librarians are ready to help you at any stage of your research process, from brainstorming keywords to searching for articles and citing them.

Visit the Ask the Library page for options to call, email, chat, or schedule an appointment with a librarian.