Skip to main content
 Home  Email  Chat  206-934-5421  Book a Study Room  Schedule a Research Appointment  Log In/Renew

ART252: Art History, Melanie King: Cite Images MLA Style

Citation Matters

A good researcher uses a standard citation format to identify the information used and give credit to its creator. Consistency is crucial.

Find tips on composing citations and view samples at  MLA Style Guide (compiled by your Seattle Central librarians).

Is writing up your Works Cited page getting you down? Try a guided citation composer to help reduce frustration.

Check out these examples for citing visual art from a variety of sources:

WEB: Reproductions of Works of Visual Art on the Web cited with print publication data (articles found in databases, newspaper articles online, etc.)

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work.Year. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution. Print publication information. Database name. Web. Date of retrieval.

Example citations:

Dali, Salvador. Crucifixion (Corpus Hypercubicus). 1954. Oil on canvas. The Metropolitain Museum of Art, New York. "The Grand Master of Surrealism Salvador Dalí." USA Today Magazine 25 May 2005: 34-41. Academic Search Complete. EBSCO. Web. 10 Feb. 2011.

Giraud, Jean. Arzach. 2000. Ink on paper. Private collection. Riou, Frédéric. "Miyazaki & Mœbius: univers croisés." Cimaise 52 2005: 30-1. Art Full Text. Web. 10 Feb. 2011.

WEB: Reproductions of works of visual art on the Web without print publication data (image databases, etc.)

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work. Year. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution. Website name. Website sponsor. Web. Date of retrieval.

Example citations:

Blake, William. The Ghost of a Flea. 1918. Tempera heightened with gold on mahogany. Tate Britain, London. Art Project. Google. Web. 15 Feb. 2011.

Mondrian, Piet. Composition II in Red, Blue, and Yellow. 1930. Oil on canvas. Private collection. Go Geometry. Blogger. Web. 15 Feb. 2011.

WEB: Works of Visual Art only on the Web (works created specifically for the Web)

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Work.” Year of completion. Website. Website Sponsor. Date of last update. Web. Date of retrieval.

Example citations:

Carbajo, Víctor. “Cellule 50b dendrited.” 2010. Carbajo’s deviantART gallery. deviantART. 2010.Web. 15 Feb. 2011.

Jevbratt, Lisa. Migrations. 2005. Migration (a map of the Internet). N.p. Jan. 2005. Web. 15 Feb. 2011.

WEB: Works of Visual Art on Wikipedia

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work. Year of completion. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution. “Article title.” Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikimedia Foundation  Date of last update. Web. Date of retrieval.

Example citations:

Burne-Jones, Edward. David’s Charge to Solomon. 1882. Stained glass.  Trinity Church, Boston. “Edward Burne-Jones.” Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikimedia Foundation 15 Feb. 2011. Web. 15 Feb. 2011.

Klee, Paul. Tale à la Hoffmann. 1921. Watercolor, ink, and pencil on paper. Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. “Paul Klee.” Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikimedia Foundation 7 Feb. 2011. Web. 10 Feb. 2011.

PRINT: Reproductions of Works of Visual Art in Print

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work.Year. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution. Print publication information.

Example citations:

Eakins, Thomas. Spinning. 1881. Private collection. Thomas Eakins. Ed. Darrel Sewell. Philadelphia Museum of Art in assn. with Yale UP, 2001. Plate 91. Print.

Moholy-Nagy, László. Photogram. N.d. Museum of Mod. Art, New York. The Contest of Meaning: Critical Histories of Photography. Ed. Richard Bolton. Cambridge: MIT P, 1989. 94. Print.

Works of Visual Art (the actual work itself)

Elements of citation:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Work.Year. Medium. Institution housing work: Location of Institution.

Example citations:

Michelangelo. Moses. 1515. Marble. San Pietro in Vincoli, Rome.

Rembrandt Harmensz van Rijn. Aristotle with a Bust of Homer. 1653. Oil on canvas. Metropolitain Museum of Art, New York.

Seurat, Georges. Man Leaning on a Fence. 1880-81? Graphite on paper. Collection of Andre Bromberg, n.p.