When you have a personal My EBSCOhost account, you have your own folder to collect and store information across sessions. All the items you save to your personal folder remain in your folder until you remove them.
Note: You still need to access Ebsco databases through the Seattle Central College Library first, then sign into your personal account.
You can save up to 6 pages of an eBook for printing or emailing as a PDF file from within the PDF Full Text viewer.
To save eBooks pages as a PDF:
Open the eBook in the PDF Full Text viewer.
Go to the first page of the section of pages you would like to print and click the Save Pages icon in the right column.
The Save Pages to PDF menu is displayed:
Select to include in the PDF:
Open the saved PDF and print out your saved pages.
To set up a personal account:
1. Click the Sign In in the top toolbar of the screen.
2. From the Sign In Screen, click the Create a new Account link.
3. The Create a New Account Screen appears with Personal Account entered in the Account Type field. Fill in the fields on the Create a New Account Screen. When you have completed the fields, click Save Changes.
4. If all the information was accepted, a message appears that provides your user name and password. Click OK. You will be automatically logged in as a personal user.
Note the user name and password you created so you can log in at a future session.
Once you find a book you would like to see, click on the PDF Full Text icon to go directly to the book.
Note: Downloading to a personal eReader is not available at this time.
1. While looking at the full text of the book, click on the “Search Within” icon, the top icon on the right-hand side tool bar.
2. At the top of the book page you will now see a box titled “Search this eBook.” Type in your search terms and press Search.
3. You will see a list of the places the term appears, plus a snippet of the text surrounding the word. Click on the snippet you wish to see.
This is what the page will look like when you have clicked on eBook PDF Full Text:
Included in the Tools column on the right, are tools that allow you to search within the text of the eBook and save a note on the eBook in your My EBSCOhost folder.
- Click the magnifying glass icon to search for terms within the eBook.
- Click the note icon to create a note about the eBook or a page of the eBook and save it to your personal folder.
- Click the dictionary icon to search for definitions of words in the eBook you are reading.
Fit Page to Viewport: Click the icon to fit the entire page into the viewport.
Fit Page Width: Click the icon to fit the page by width in the viewing area.
Fit Page: Click the icon to view the entire page in the viewing area.
Zoom Out: Click the icon to zoom out on the page.
Zoom In: Click the icon to zoom in on the page.
Location Slider: Drag the location slider right or left to go to a specific page of the eBook. The left and right arrows on either side of the slider bar take you to the beginning or end of the eBook. The page number updates in the Page Navigation box as you drag the location slider.
Page Navigation: Use the page navigation arrows to move up or down one page at a time or enter a page number in the field provided and click Go.
Our eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) offers over 15,000 titles from a variety of publishers. These books are non-fiction and cover most academic subjects, including art, history, business, psychology, science, and much more.
The Notetaking feature assists with your research by allowing you to take notes on eBooks and save them to your My EBSCOhost folder for later viewing.
To use the Notetaking feature in EBSCOhost:
From page of the eBook on which you would like to leave a note, click the Notes icon in the toolbar.
Click the + New Note button that appears in the Notes area. If there are existing notes, they appear in a list in the Notes area.
Note: Click the Sign In link to save your note to your personal My EBSCOhost folder account.
3. Enter your note text in the field provided and click the Save button. You can adjust how the text appears in your note using the Bold, Italics, and Underline buttons above the text field.
4. Your saved note appears in the Notes list.
5. Click the Note title to edit the text.
6. Hover your pointer over the note to either Delete or view the page number of the note.
7. Click the in the upper-left corner to close the Notes area.