Library: ESL 096-097-098-099 Transitional, Rachel Scheiner (fall 2021): Select Sources

Types of Information

Database n. a specialized search engine for finding articles, images, and other sources. Use keywords to search databases for articles and other sources on your topic.

Learn about your book and its author/illustrator.

Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Enter the title or author of your graphic novel or memoir to find articles and interviews.

Find definitions of your book's important themes.

GVRL Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Good for background information and important facts about the people, events, and themes in your graphic novels and memoirs.
Begin your search using just ONE keyword or phrase. Then you can refine the results based on how many show up.

Find reports and commentary about the themes and issues from your book, and author/illustrator interviews.

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Articles and multimedia on a variety of subjects from magazines, newspapers, reference books, and TV/radio transcripts. Allows lexile level search.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos. Educational titles and clips on a wide range of subjects.

Research databases: what are they and why are they useful?

This tutorial provides an excellent explanation of databases and why they're useful. It was created by the librarians at Yavapai College.

We have limited doorbell service from 9am - 2pm from June 21-23, and remote services on Friday, June 24. We reopen Monday, June 27 at 9am.

Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.

ESL 096-097-098-099 Transitional, Rachel Scheiner (fall 2021): Select Sources

Types of Information

Research databases: what are they and why are they useful?