Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
We are open for summer quarter from 9am-4pm, Monday-Thursday and offer remote services Friday, 9am-12pm.
Find details on borrowing, tech equipment, course reserves, research and reference help, & instructional support at 2022 LIBRARY SERVICES.
This page is for students in the Intro to Theatre class to support research for the theatre styles group project with all kinds of credible sources about theatre styles and restorative justice.
Theatre of Cruelty (Antonin Artaud)
Epic Theater (Bertolt Brecht)
Theater of the Oppressed (Augusto Boal)
Bread and Puppet Theater
Verbatim Theater (Documentary Theater)
GVRL Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Hundreds of encyclopedias for background research on many subjects. A good place to get overviews for your topic. Topics include business, history, art, science, health, and more.
books & films for context/discussion
Search the library catalog, Finder, for books and films in all subject areas.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos. Educational titles and clips on a wide range of subjects.
articles for discussion/criticism
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Encyclopedia and background information on authors, literary works, and literary concepts.
Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, biographies, and more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
time-saving search strategies
ONLINE SEARCH TIPS
- Put phrases in quotes.
- Use OR to combine synonyms:
- Use AND to combine main ideas of your topic/question.
- Truncate (with *) to get all variations of a search term
- Change important search terms to Subjects for narrower and more relevant results
SEARCH RESULTS CLUES
- Start with the Title and the Abstract (or summary) of the article.
- Then scan the Subject Headings to learn what the article’s focus areas are.
- Notice if the type of article matches what you need; don’t get fooled by a book review or editorial.
- See if you have access to the full-text of your chosen article, possibly in another database