Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The library is closed for the break, August 23 - September 23 and our physical space reopens Monday, September 27.
Find details on borrowing / course reserves; printing / scanning; research / reference help; and instructional support. Follow link,
FALL 2021 LIBRARY SERVICES
Recommended Periodical Databases
Database n. a specialized search engine for finding articles, typically provided by a library. Most allow keyword and subject searches to find full-text articles and citations to articles.
Academic Search Complete
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
Publishes 206 peer-reviewed open access journals in medicine, biology, and public health.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Database of peer-reviewed scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full-text.
PLOS: Public Library of Science
Supports scientific scholarly communication by publishing peer reviewed open-access research articles as well as scholarly blog posts in the sciences.
ProQuest Research Library
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
Mostly full-text. Book chapters and peer reviewed/scholarly articles. A good starting place for health, science and technology research. Includes College Edition: Health and Life Sciences Journal Collection.
World Wide Science
A global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Many databases offer both full-text (yay!) and citations (grr!). Options when the full-text is not available:
- In the database, click journal linker or "search journal title" to check for it in other library databases
- Limit the search to "full-text" and find another article
- Search for the periodical (not the article):
- Get the article from another library:
Visit a library in person.
Ask a librarian about InterLibrary Loan service
- Try searching the article title in a web search to see if it is posted freely online.