Library: ENGL 102: Composition II, Desiree Simons: Find Authoritative Sources

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text. Peer-reviewed/scholarly journals, reports, magazines, and newspapers. Covers a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text. Peer reviewed/scholarly articles on a range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. A good starting place for History, Philosophy, English, and more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Some full-text. Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 peer reviewed/scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.

Additional suggestion for English 102 ARE students:

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Limited full-text. Education-related reports, peer reviewed/scholarly articles, and abstracts dating back to 1966. This is the primary database for the education field.

Note which search terms are most effective and which ones are less helpful.
Try various combinations of search terms or try related words or synonyms.
Use the search filters narrow results by
- date of publication (you can choose a range of dates that are relevant to your topic)
- source type (for example, you can limit results to only show scholarly/peer-reviewed articles)
- full-text
In addition to the databases recommended above, the library has more to explore: A-Z Databases.

Tips and tricks on how to read scholarly articles (it's not like reading other stuff).

Scholarly articles go through the peer-review process. The following video describes this process.

Need more help finding articles? Librarians are ready to help! See the Ask the Library page for ways to contact a librarian.