This is the "Quick Tips" page of the "Faculty Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library home page Seattle Central CC campus home page Need Help?  Ask a Librarian

Faculty Resources  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattlecentral.edu/faculty Print Guide RSS Updates

Quick Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library

Home

 

Find

 

Learn

 

Faculty Resources

 

Research Resources

“library as place”

Stop by to browse our collections of books, magazines, journals, media, and college-related archives.  We offer both silent and collaborative spaces.  You may even experience serendipity.

 “library without walls”

Visit the library’s Web site to access research tools and library information.  We participate in the Ask-WA 24/7 chat reference service.

  - Use the Library Catalog to identify and locate titles in our collection

  - Search our Research Databases to find general interest & scholarly articles, primary documents, multimedia sources, and more
 
  - Explore and borrow from other library collections through our inter-library loan service
 

UW Libraries

Community college faculty are eligible for borrowing privileges.  UW-restricted services such as interlibrary loan and remote access to databases are excluded.

- Apply for a free borrower card at the UW Library Cashier Office, located on the 1st floor of Suzzallo Library.


- Present current institutional ID, or submit a letter on official letterhead to the UW Library Cashier.

Learn more

 

Library Liaisons

Consult with your liaison librarian to request materials for the collection that support your curriculum and to collaborate on ideas to meet our mutual teaching and learning needs. Liaisons coordinate both library instruction and library collections.

* = Sharon coordinates collection for this area.

Art, English, Music Sharon
Allied Health Jane
Basic & Transitional Studies Sharon
Business, Information Technology, Creative Arts Katy
Communications* Lynn
English Sharon
Human Development Jane
International Education* Katy
Science & Math Lynn
Social & Human Services & ABS Jane
Social Sciences Kelley
SVI Lynn
Wood Technology Katy

 


Jane
Shoop
call 934-4071
send email


Katy
Dichter
call 934-4098
send email


Kelley
McHenry
call 934-6336
send email


Lynn
Kanne

call
934-4072 
send email


Sharon
Spence-Wilcox
call 934-4069
send email
 

When to find us: Current Quarter's Reference Staff Schedule

     

    Instructional Support

    for Students

    Schedule your class for research and information literacy workshops geared toward students' needs and assignments

    Teach a library session on your own (prevent overbooking by calling the Reference Desk)

    Collaborate with your library liaison to develop effective library assignments

    Take advantage of the reserves service to increase student access to supplemental readings, sample exams, textbooks, audiovisual media, and other high demand items (print or online)

    Book media and computer equipment for delivery to your classroom

    for Faculty/Staff

    Attend professional development workshops on resources and information literacy issues that support the curriculum

    Consult with a librarian for help accessing and using databases and other library resources

     

    Information Literacy

    Help Students Become
    Information Savvy

    Instruction sessions work best when:
    - Students have an assignment that requires them to use the library and they receive it prior to their scheduled library workshop.

    Instructors test the assignment to be sure that it is workable and that the resources needed to complete it are available.

    The librarian and instructor design workshops to address immediate information needs.

    Librarians have time to think about the learning outcomes and plan an appropriate workshop.

    Students sense their instructor’s enthusiasm.

    Seattle Central Community College | Library | Ask a Librarian
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip