This is the "Research Databases" page of the "Research Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Library home page Seattle Central CC campus home page Need Help?  Ask a Librarian

Research Databases  

Find articles in encyclopedias, academic journals, magazines and newspapers, plus primary source documents, and much more!
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.seattlecentral.edu/databases Print Guide
Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library

Home

 

Find

 

Learn

 

Faculty Resources

Recommended Starting Points

Not sure? Try one of these databases.  Each covers a wide variety of topics to satisfy most students' research needs.

  • EBSCOhost Databases  Icon
    All-in-one search of Academic Search Premier, SocINDEX, TOPICsearch, plus the eBook Collection.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
    Collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • ProQuest Databases  Icon
    All-in-one search of ProQuest Research Library, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ProQuest Family Health, ProQuest Newspapers, WA State Newsstand, plus the Ebrary Collection of online books.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, plus scholarly reports and conference proceedings. Content includes health & medicine, language & linguistics, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and computer science.
  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals  Icon
    Comprehensive database of open access scientific and scholarly journals. Developed at Lund University, Sweden. [open access]
  • eLibrary Academic  Icon
    Articles and multimedia on a variety of subjects from magazines, newspapers, reference books, and radio/tv transcripts. For all levels of research skills and needs.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere. Special features allow users to bookmark clips and share playlists.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Interdisciplinary archive of leading scholarly journals and other materials valuable for academic work.
  • New York Times Historical (1851-2009)  Icon
    **Available only with a Seattle Public Library card. Access digital page and article images.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon
    Popular database for current events topics with pro and con argumentative essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text periodical articles.
  • ProQuest Newspapers  Icon
    Local, regional and national news coverage, including The New York Times and several Washington state news sources.
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon
    Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
  • Seattle Times  Icon
    Browse the free version (limited content). Need more?
    **Use your Seattle Public Library card to access:
    - Seattle Times (1985 to present)
    - Seattle Times Historical Archives (1900-1984).
  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.  Icon
    Authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • TOPICsearch  Icon
    Current events database of social, political and economic issues, and scientific discoveries. Sources include opinion polls, pamphlets, and government documents.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, plus scholarly reports and conference proceedings.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere. Special features allow users to bookmark clips and share playlists.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Interdisciplinary archive of leading scholarly journals and other materials valuable for academic work.
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon
    Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, interviews, and more. Includes writers in all disciplines from all time periods and from all around the world.
  • Music Online  Icon
    Streaming audio in Contemporary World Music, American Song and Jazz genres. Searchable by artist, album, genre, country and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon
    Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry  Icon
    Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news. Includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, plus scholarly reports and conference proceedings. Content includes health & medicine, language & linguistics, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and computer science.
  • ERIC  Icon
    Comprehensive education database includes journal article citations and full text documents. [open access]
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere. Special features allow users to bookmark clips and share playlists.
  • GrantStation  Icon
    Online funding resource for organizations seeking grants throughout the world. **Available only in the Library.
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon
    Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
  • Puget Sound Business Journal  Icon
    Access the most comprehensive coverage of local business news and information from major metropolitan cities across the country with American City Business Journals.
  • WOIS Career Info  Icon
    Job descriptions for more than 340 occupations, as well as information on training programs and schools in Washington state. ** Available only in the library or on campus.
  • Access Science  Icon
    McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the Dictionary of Scientific & Technical terms . Includes comprehensive scientist biographies, science and technology developments, and article updates.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  Icon
    Collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.  Icon
    Authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, plus scholarly reports and conference proceedings. Content includes health & medicine, language & linguistics, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and computer science.
  • Access Science  Icon
    McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the Dictionary of Scientific & Technical terms . Includes comprehensive scientist biographies, science and technology developments, and article updates.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere. Special features allow users to bookmark clips and share playlists.
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center  Icon
    Up-to-date reference material as well as full-text magazines, journals, and pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources - includes alternative health sources.
  • Health Reference Center Academic  Icon
    Full-text articles from nursing and allied health journals.
  • National Geographic Magazine Archive  Icon
    Features the complete archive of photojournalism and maps from 1888 to the mid-1990s. Find in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment.
  • ProQuest Family Health  Icon
    Consumer health - journal articles and magazines. Includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
  • ProQuest Research Library  Icon
    Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
  • PubMed  Icon
    Peer-reviewed biomedical and life sciences journals from the U.S. National Institutes of Health. [open access]
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    Multi-disciplinary database of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals, plus scholarly reports and conference proceedings. Content includes health & medicine, language & linguistics, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and computer science.
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video  Icon
    Largest and richest online collection of video (330 to date) available for the study of social work, psychology and counseling.
  • CQ Researcher  Icon
    In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on national and international topics.
  • CultureGrams Online  Icon
    Concise, reliable, and up-to-date country reports on 182 cultures of the world.
  • Films on Demand  Icon
    Streaming video collection of high-quality educational titles on many subjects that can be viewed anytime, anywhere. Special features allow users to bookmark clips and share playlists.
  • JSTOR  Icon
    Interdisciplinary archive of leading scholarly journals and other materials valuable for academic work.
  • National Geographic Magazine Archive  Icon
    Features the complete archive of photojournalism and maps from 1888 to the mid-1990s. Find in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology and the environment.
  • New York Times Historical (1851-2009)  Icon
    **Available only with a Seattle Public Library card. Access digital page and article images.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon
    Popular database for current events topics with pro and con argumentative essays, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text periodical articles.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    Multidisciplinary subject coverage from 4,000 scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
  • SocINDEX  Icon
    Comprehensive sociology database that covers criminal justice, demography, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, rural & urban sociology, social work, substance abuse & other addictions, violence, and more. Sources include journals and conference proceedings.
  • Statistical Abstract of the U.S.  Icon
    Authoritative summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
  • TOPICsearch  Icon
    Current events database of social, political and economic issues, and scientific discoveries. Sources include opinion polls, pamphlets, and government documents.
  • U.S. History in Context  Icon
    Essays, journal articles, biographies and primary source documents covering historical themes, events, individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to the present.
  • World History in Context  Icon
    Essays, journal articles, biographies and primary source documents covering historical themes, events, individuals and periods in world history from B.C.E. to the present.
 

Quick Links

 

Off Campus Access

Licensing agreements limit access to current Seattle Central students and employees.

How do I connect from off campus?

Why do I get a "Login Unsuccessful" message?

 

Not Sure?

Seattle Central Community College | Library | Ask a Librarian
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip